Families logo

A day in this world

Hopes and Faith

By Claudia RodriguezPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Today is a day that I shall never forget. I woke to the alarm at 4:30 am as usual. I felt tired yet inspired. I dropped off the kids at work and drove back home; I saw the sun starting to light up in the horizon, I was still tired and headed back to bed. But I could not shake the feeling that I needed to do something different. I finally got up at 8:30 and headed to shower while the sounds of the birds outside made me feel like I was missing out on the best morning ever.

See; a nature lover must be up with the day, and rest in the dark of night, but lately my life has been altered by the cruelty of an unnatural event, an event that all but wiped out the natural balance of our lives. I have seen the sadness felt the fear and tasted the vile of the monster that attacks our humanity.

Today is a new day and I hear the birds, see the sunshine and feel the breeze; spring is in the air and the cold of winter is warming up, the snow is still visible in the mountains and the morning chill is still biting at my hands, but as the day advanced the warmth of the sun filled my senses and the need to explore pushed me forward to activity.

As I finally made my way out of the house and into the light of the sun with an endless blue sky, I came out into a world that has changed, a world that misses loved ones, communication in person and freedom of care. We are carefree bunch; we like gatherings, parties, mega shopping, super events and participation. True; many of us would prefer to be alone, but occasionally we want to be a part of something big. Well, this pandemic has certainly done that, it made us all participants of the biggest event ever.

I began walking heading towards the lake, I passed a couple that was already returning from the lake. They seemed peaceful and relaxed. I put my headphones on and began playing some music, as I made my way over to the lake, which was only a 5-minute walk, as I approached the lake, I realized that nature was still the same the changes were made to human behavior and that’s just part of the human world, plants, animals and water bodies have not changed this time. Yes, they do change but not as visibly as we have, there were the same pigeons, the geese, the ducks they all were happy, and the dogs were just as happy to come out to the park.

I began my walk around the lake stopping every so often to admire the duck flock, and the goose chasing away another goose, as I continued my walk, I began doing my breathing exercises and filling my lungs with cool fresh air, I had been cooped up for so long that I became lightheaded, I walked over to a bench and sat down to calm myself. Once I was feeling better, I began to walk again and admire the beauty of the lake. After an hour of walking, I went to seat at a bench by the side of the lake, I had brought water and a snack, so I sat there to eat it while watching and listening to the conversations of the wildlife and the rustling of the leaves and the sound of the water splashing. What a perfect day it was, and I was again feeling alive, filled with a desire to write again, to be creative, to move and breath and live. The past year has been of sorrow, illness, disappointment and hatred. I feel that today the world will begin to heal in all aspects. Today I believe a good thing will happen.

I began to make my way back home, looking forward to writing a new story or finally catching up with my book. It was such a beautiful day decided to take the long way home I walked right past the hotel and several people were arriving for the weekend. I continued my walk home my phone began to ring I did not recognize the number, so I did not respond to the call. I made my way through to the complex and walked up the stairs to my apartment as I reached the top there was a strange package on my doorstep, I picked it up, opened the door and walked in. my phone rang one more time again I ignored it, and let it go to voicemail. The package was in my name but I did not recognize the sender I had not ordered anything recently and so I was a bit confused about it. I set it down on the table next to my keys and preceded to check my phone; I retrieved voicemail to listen to my messages, the voice on the other end greeted me with confidence as if he knew me. and he told me that they had been waiting to speak with me, but they had to leave; leaving the package and hoping that the right person would receive it. I called the number and ask the person left the message. He greeted me and explained to me that he was a lawyer that had been sent to look for me to deliver the little black book and the notes with it. I listened as he explained to me the reason, he was trying to locate me.

This day started out with a promise as I looked at the sunlight in the horizon, but never would I have guessed that after all this time he would try to find me.

The lawyer was sent by my father, I never met him and once tried to find him but was unsuccessful. The lawyer explained that due to recent events my father had created a Living Will and had named me as one of his recipients, that I was to accept this as a gift and that the letter and notebook would explain it all.

As I opened the package there was an envelope with a 3-page letter and a check for $20,000 made out to my name, and a little black book titled

"The child I never met."

One life, one moment, one world.

We live in a natural environment that can be cruel, cold and dark.

But that at moment’s notice can change it all for the better of another human being...

literature
Like

About the Creator

Claudia Rodriguez

I am a nature loving person who finds the indoors quite suffocating after a while, I find inspiration in the beauty of a mountain, the flight of a bird or the soft swaying of a flower in the wind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.