Families logo

A Beacon of Hope

Honoring Our Veterans

By A. LaRaePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
A Beacon of Hope
Photo by Samuel Branch on Unsplash

When you see the color green, what is the first thing that comes to mind? Do you think of what it represents or symbolizes? Do you think of a traffic light and how the green light signals that it is time to move forward?

I see it as a beacon of hope, renewal, and well-being. I see it as representative of growth, a new beginning, or rebirth after a dormant moment in time. Springtime is the perfect example, as nature starts to wake up after a long sleep, during the winter months. Most of all, I see it as a symbol of honoring the brave men and women who have served our country. Many may have returned home but still feel as if they are alienated and more hidden after taking off the uniform and returning to Civilian life.

Growing up, I had spent most of my time with my grandparents, and I have often wondered why they used the green light bulbs in their porch light rather than the typical white or yellow bulbs most people used. What was the purpose of the green light? Did it symbolize something for them at the time? It didn’t seem necessary to ask until I was older.

I was sitting in my grandparents’ kitchen when I was going through some old photographs of them and the rest of my family. The majority of the pictures were of the family who served in the Armed Forces. I knew that many members of my family had served in the military. My grandfather had fought in WWII; my grandmother served during the Korean war.

I continued to look over the photos and came across my mother’s and my youngest uncle’s picture in their dress uniforms. Their faces took on a look of seriousness and professionalism as the background dawned, the symbol of our freedom, dignity, and the true meaning of being an American. I couldn't help but smile and feel proud.

My grandfather told me stories about how during war times, soldiers were called heroes. People looked up to them as they fought for our country. Many sacrificed their time, life, and family to serve. Some gave the ultimate sacrifice and never returned home to the country they loved. However, once they served their purpose, those who would return home were no longer considered heroes by most. These soldiers, these true Patriots, discard it and then, left to defend themselves from the demons that tormented them.

I remember reading articles about the soldiers who would return home after fighting in a war and how many were never the same person they once were. They suffered from conditions both physical and mental and were often dealt with hostility by people around them. My heart shattered at the thought of our brave men and women having to deal with a constant war, not only within themselves but in their own country.

I considered all the things he told me, but it never really answered my question. “But why the green light, Papa?” I would ask him again after some time as I sat at the kitchen table with him. He would smile his brightest smile and simple reply; “America’s Veterans are some of the bravest and hard-working people you ever meet. However, it's sometimes hard to honor them and show them the appreciation they so much deserve once they have returned home. The green color represents hope, peace, and a new start. So by changing just one light to green, it's our way of showing them our support for the sacrifices they made in defending our country and letting them know they aren't alone.”

I took his words to heart, I hugged him and thanked him for his service to our nation, and that night, I returned home and changed the porchlight’s bulb to a green one to work as a beacon of hope to help guide our veterans way in the dark.

To this day, I still light a greenlight and keep it lit every day to show my support and appreciation. Though I'm only one person, I hope I can make a difference in honoring not only the veterans in my own family but all the veterans throughout the country, not just on veterans’ day but all year round.

fact or fiction

About the Creator

A. LaRae

I’m a mother, a lover, a writer & a free spirit, fighting for my dreams & making them come true.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ALWritten by A. LaRae

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.