Families logo

6 Effective Way To Remember Names and Make More Friends

This is a fail-safe method of ensuring that you always recall the name of someone you've just met.

By Anup JoshiPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
6 Effective Way To Remember Names and Make More Friends
Photo by Duy Pham on Unsplash

Names are heard in one ear and then heard in the other.

It happens on a regular basis. It's one of the world's most common issues. It can sometimes feel as if you're trained to forget a new person's name as soon as you're introduced to them. You're not alone in having trouble recalling names.

So, why is it so tough to recall someone's name, and what are the benefits of honing your memory for names?

1. When you recall people's names, they like you.

One of the few things you own that no one can ever take away from you is your name.

Your name is a valuable asset. When someone remembers your name, it's a nice compliment. When you are addressed by name, you feel valued and a member of the community.

People get the impression that you like them when you recall their name.

So, what's keeping you from memorizing names like a pro?

2. Attain the appropriate emotional state

When you first meet a stranger, your emotional state has a big impact on your ability to remember their name.

"Human beings are built to size each other up rapidly," according to an article in Psychology Today. A variety of characteristics influence first impressions, including facial shape, verbal inflection, attractiveness, and general emotional condition." We want to swiftly assess each other because we need to know whether the new person poses a threat or is a potential ally and friend.

The general message is that we are jittery when we first meet someone. We're focusing on making a decision on them. The name of the stranger to whom we are being introduced is not on our minds.

To improve your memory for names, you must concentrate on them to the same degree as you do when deciding whether they are a potential opponent or friend.

3. Decrease your anxiety level

"A subsequent recognition test demonstrated greater performance by low-anxiety students," according to a study published by the American Psychological Association titled Depth of processing and anxiety in facial recognition.

It appears that the same low anxiety that is crucial for facial recognition is also important for our capacity to remember names. You are less tense when you are less nervous, and you are better capable of functioning at your best when you are less tense.

As a result, approaching strangers in a relaxed mood appears to make sense. You should be able to read their face and remember their name more easily after that.

4. Break the habit of forgetting names.

You're exacerbating your problems by telling yourself, "I'm hopeless at remembering names."

By repeating a technique, you may program yourself to become good at anything. You learned to walk, learn your math tables, and learn to use a keyboard by repetition. Repetition builds neuronal pathways in your brain that allow you to act without thinking on autopilot.

You're building a self-fulfilling prophecy by repeating yourself over and over, "I'm hopeless at remembering names."

It will assist if you consistently repeat yourself, "I'm good at remembering names," to shift your vocabulary around name remembrance.

5. Why are certain names easier to remember than others?

It used to irritate me that I couldn't recall someone's name seconds after being introduced to them.

My wife then shared something unusual one day. She mentioned that she'd noticed that I had an easy time remembering the names of gorgeous girls while forgetting the names of everyone else in a matter of seconds. I began to wonder why this was the case. Did my ability to remember names depend on my level of interest?

When I thought about how I felt when I was introduced to a lovely female, I realized I wasn't making any judgments about who was a friend or who was an adversary. Rather, I assumed they were likable and wondered how I could learn more about them. As a result, it was critical to recall their name. I felt inspired to overcome my nervousness and activate my memories.

I'm confident that Sigmund Freud, the great psychoanalyst, would have concluded that I had a sexual motive. And it was from that thinking that I devised my strategy for memorizing everyone's name.

6. In bed, remembering names

This is my naughty, psycho-sexual method of memorizing everyone's name.

"Anup, this is Rajan," a mutual acquaintance introduces me to a new individual.

"Hello Rajan, it's nice to meet you," I say. Then, when I shake Anup's hand, I recall a previous acquaintance with the same name. In my mind's eye, I picture the new Anup sleeping in a giant double bed alongside my old pal Anup. I merely bring up the picture of the two Anups resting side by side in their bed anytime I need to remember the new Anup's name.

When I'm introduced to someone whose name isn't on my current contact list, I imagine a famous person with the same name as my new contact and imagine the two of them sharing a bed.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Anup Joshi

I am a curious person who loves to learn new things. Very much interested in traveling and Electronic Gadgets and CEO at www.techbasket.in

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.