Families logo

4 Lessons from my mother

She did it all by herself.

By Nat Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
 4 Lessons from my mother
Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

Watching my mother do it all by herself by choice has taught me so many life lessons. My mother was a single mother by choice. She decided to adopt me all on her own and it was extremely hard. I wasn't an easy child. I have learned a lot from her. My mother has always taught me valuable life lessons. I always appreciated the wisdom she has brought me over the years. I look up to my mother for many reasons. Here are a few of the lessons that she has taught me over the past 24 years of my life.

Lesson 1: When everything is going wrong, go left. Find your balance.

Sometimes when everything seems to be going wrong, you have to change something. When things aren't going the way you want them to change something. the something doesn't have to be big. It can be as little as changing your daily schedule to make it fit your life better. As we get older things to change. The life you lived at the age of 19 doesn't mean it's going to be the same at the age of 25. Sometimes you just need to find the right balance. Finding the right balance in your life can be very beneficial in your life.

Lesson 2: Always work hard at whatever you do.

My mom was an accountant till a few years after I was born, then she became a single stay-at-home mother. When she was an accountant she always worked her hardest no matter what. While she was working more than full-time she was still taking care of me. When she left her job she still Worked really hard to make sure I had everything I wanted and more. My mother always said that you can take pride in the work you do and that you have tried your best. She always goes above and beyond in her work.

Lesson 3: Take risks

When my mom adopted me she was 46 years old and single. She always wanted a child so she decided to adopt. She knew that adoption was a risk but her desire to be a parent outweighed the risk. She always taught me to take chances. She has always had the courage to try new things and takes pride in how she lives her life. Now I say yes to opportunities that can better my life.

Lesson 4: The importance of kindness

My mother was always kind to everyone she was around, from people to animals. Her kindness manifests in the people she spends the most time with. She was the person who taught me the importance of being kind to everyone around you. My mother taught me how to be kind to every single person I have ever met. When I got older I found out the reason why my mother was kind to everyone she ever met and it wasn't because it was the right thing to do. During her freshman year of college, her boyfriend killed himself. Ever since then she made it a point to be kind to everyone she sees and instilled that in me.

My mother has been through a lot and she has always been kind. Over the years my mother has always been kind to everyone she surrounds herself with. My mother could have easily shut off from the world but she didn't. She chose to remain kind during the worst parts of her life. She taught me to be kind every single day because it was the right thing to do. I feel like I learn something new every single day from my mother.

values
Like

About the Creator

Nat

She/her/hers

writing about adoption, mental health, and chronic Illness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.