Families logo

21 and Pregnant

Getting the Big Positive

By LeighAnn ConnorPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

Hi, my name is LeighAnn, I'm 21-years-old and currently about 14 weeks pregnant. I found out about the pregnancy when I was 6 weeks along. When I saw those two little lines, I panicked. It was hard to breathe. I couldn't stop crying over the phone to my boyfriend. He reassured me that everything would be fine. I was filled with every emotion, scared, angry, sad.

The next day we took two more tests which of course came up positive as I knew they would. Again, crying, he hugged me, saying that we would figure this out. Everything would be ok. About a week later, we scheduled our first OBGYN appointment. It was about a month away and felt like we waited forever. Now it was time to tell the parents. As scared as I was to tell my father, I knew he would find out eventually and that it must be done.

As the whole family on both sides found out about the pregnancy, the support flowed out and surrounded us. This helped me by taking off so much stress and worry that I didn't need off of my shoulders. Now we could focus on what really mattered the most, the baby. As time went on we went to the OBGYN appointment. I was really nervous but they took care of me and we received only good news.

The baby was beautiful, moving around inside of me, jumping and squirming. By the measurements, I was 12 weeks pregnant. At the very first sight of my baby, I busted into tears. I couldn'tbelieve that something so beautiful was actually inside of me. The heartbeat at 160 beats per minute was perfect and again I was relieved. God had heard my prayers and had kept my baby safe.

My partner and I are currently engaged now. We will wed on November 2nd and I couldn't be happier. So many people say that when you're young and pregnant, or even young and married, that your life is over. I couldn't possibly imagine how my life can be over just because I am not out partying, sleeping around, or "adventuring." I would rather raise a beautiful baby and marry the love of my life and be committed any day of my life. I've got my soon-to-be husband by my side, and my Lord looking out for me. I couldn't ask for anything better.

pregnancy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.