Families logo

2023 New year planning

happy new year planning

By zahmaraPublished about a year ago 8 min read
1

Today, let's plan for 2023.

This will be an interactive planning

where I'll share some prompts and give you some time to pause and plan along with me.

The prompts are based off of the prompts in the Artist of Life Workbook. So, make sure you check this out if you haven't already. If you have the workbook, you can plan along with this video. But if you don't have the workbook, that's fine.

Feel free to plan in your own notebook or whatever note taking device. Another thing is this is the second part in our new year planning series.

We had another video that I posted for reflecting on 2022. Make sure you do that before you begin planning for 2023. I'll link that video down below.

Towards the end, I'm gonna share a couple different prompts that aren't in the workbook. So even if you have the workbook, you'll get something a little bit new through this video.Just because I wanna give you guys a slightly different angle for planning your year.

Before you get started, make sure you're subscribed to this channel and you click that bell down below so you're notified of all my new videos on personal growth and lifestyle design.

We're all gonna create our dream lives in the new year and on and on. All right, let's get to planning. Prompt #1: What is my theme for 2023?

Your theme is the all encompassing type of energy that you want your year to represent or that you wanna invite into your year.

If you want to push yourself out there to be bold and be courageous that could be your theme. If you wanna take some time to go slower and heal, then that could be your theme.

Your theme is really what you want to give yourself and what you want your year to be about.

My theme for 2022 was Nourish. I wanted to nourish my wellbeing and put my health and wellness above work. So that's essentially what I did this year.

And moving into 2023, I haven't completely decided my theme yet. I'm kind of deciding between these three words.

The first one is Flow like to operate more in that zone of flow and creative flow. The second one would be Joy like maybe I just want to focus my year on joy, being happy.

And the third one is Focus. And that theme is always being conscious of what I'm aware of and what I'm focusing on because I know that the more you can focus on something, the more depth and the more growth you can have in that area. Still deciding on what my theme should be.

Let me know if you've decided your theme for 2023. Comment your theme down below for fun. Prompt

#2: How can I embody my theme this year?

It's not enough just to set the theme and forget about it. You wanna start brainstorming, How can I start to live out this theme?” What can I do?”

“What changes can I make to start to embody this theme?”

Prompt #3: How do I wanna evolve in 2023?

What are the ways that you wanna grow and change in the next year? Who do you wanna become at the end of next year—

like one year from now?

Do you want to work on habits?

Do you want to work on aspects of your personality?

Do you wanna let go of negative traits, negative habits,

things that you know aren't serving you?

This is your space to set the intentions

for how you wanna grow this year.

Prompt #4: What do I wanna release in 2023?

What are the things that you wanna let go of and let them stay in the past?

Are these your bad habits?

Are they mindset related?

Are they emotional?

Are they beliefs?

Are there stories that you believe about yourself that you are ready to let go of

because you're ready to create a new story for yourself and create a new version of yourself?

I think what we release is just as important—

if not more important—

than the things that we add to our lives.

It could be anything from

“I wanna release comparing myself to others,”

or “I wanna release caring about what others think of me,”

or “I wanna release this bad habit of eating junk food every night.”

Think of the things that are not serving you in your current life

and how good would it feel if you just erased that from your life.

If it feels good, then write it down.

This is what I wanna release in 2023.

Next is time to start setting your goals.

Prompt #5: What are my main goals for 2023?

Take your time on this.

Take this space to brainstorm what those goals could be.

They don't have to be set in stone

right from the moment you write them down.

Your goals are here for you to plan and brainstorm

and prioritize like,

“Is this really what I wanna do or is this more important?”

This is your space to brainstorm what your main goals could be this year.

Limit yourself to maybe 3-5 main goals

because you don't wanna overwhelm yourself

with too many things to do

because that will scatter your focus

and you're not gonna be able to see your goals through that way.

You wanna be able to really prioritize, hone it down,

and focus down on what you really wanna accomplish this year.

After you've decided what your main goals for the year are—

write next to that goal, why you wanna achieve that goal

and how it relates to you living your dream life.

In my philosophy, every goal, every intention, or every step you take

should be a step closer towards the life

that you've always wanted.

If it's not taking you in that direction, like why are you doing it right?

You wanna make sure everything's moving in the right direction

and you wanna have a good enough “why”

because that's what's gonna give you the motivation

and the drive and the perseverance

to keep going after those goals.

Even when things get hard,

even when you start to fall off the wagon

and feel lazy and kind of lose your sense,

just come back to your “why”—

like this is why this goal is important,

and then you should find some new motivation

to continue working towards that.

Moving on to the next prompt,

and this is where it starts to differ from what's in the workbook.

Prompt #6: What area of my life do I wanna focus on first this year?

Think of all the areas of your life from your health, career,

relationships, personal growth, spirituality,

creativity, healing, adventure and travel.

These are all different aspects of our life.

Which one do you wanna focus on first?

We usually find that some areas are neglected than others,

or maybe you're really focused on one specific area

and that's the area you wanna grow the most in this year.

It could be career, or it could be home.

You wanna remodel your home or reorganize your home.

So ask yourself,

“What is the area that you wanna focus on nurturing and growing first this year?”

This is different from what's in the workbook,

because in the workbook,

I lay out all these different areas of life

and I help you set goals in each area of life.

And I really love doing that because it helps shine a light on all these different areas--

a lot of which people forget to even set goals for.

They don't even think about it.

They don't think about setting home goals or relationship goals.

But what I've also found is when you're setting goals in all areas of life,

it can be hard to make progress in each area equally

because you're spreading yourself thin

if you try to do it all at once.

So, pick one area that you really care about

that you really want to focus all your energy to grow and nurture

and start there.

And maybe later in the year,

you wanna change to a different area or add on a different area.

That's totally fine.

I just recommend starting with one,

so that you have that laser focus to make progress.

So after you've picked your area that you wanna focus on,

the next prompt is a follow up to that.

Prompt #7: How do I wanna transform myself in this area?

Or you can also ask,

“What do I want this area of my life to look like one year from now?”

It's kind of like what we did earlier, like “How do I want to evolve in 2023?”

But instead of you, it's this area.

Let's shine a spotlight in this area of your life.

How do you want it to change?

How do you want it to evolve in one year?

All right, my loves.

That concludes our new year planning session for today.

I hope you enjoyed it. I hope you got something out of it.

Now, the next step would just be to break down your goals

and plan them on a quarterly, monthly, weekly and then daily basis.

I've talked about this method—

it's how we break it down in the Artist of life Workbook—

starting from the big picture goals to yearly goals

to the quarterly and so on.

That's the best way I've found to tackle big goals in your life

and to achieve your dream life

is just taking it step by step, one day at a time,

and eventually in a year you'll be like,

“Oh my gosh, so much has changed.”

If you wanna guided system to plan and execute on all of your goals,

definitely check out the Artist of Life Workbook.

We have a physical and a digital version on our shop,

which I'll link here and down below.

Make sure you stay tuned for more new year content coming soon.

Sending you so much love.

And I hope you're enjoying the holiday season.

Bye~

featurefact or fictioncelebritiesadvice
1

About the Creator

zahmara

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Felix Mukallaabout a year ago

    A wonderful piece. Thank you Zahmara.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.