Families logo

14 Years Old

Life-Changing

By Mary .Published 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Dream City

Fourteen years is how old I was when it all happened. I realized I wanted to live in New York City, my mom was having my little sister, I tried to harm myself, and my dad left us. We found out about my dad's affair when my little sister was already born, when we found out our entire world came down and in that moment I knew my life was not gonna be the same. My dad still lived in the US but would just leave out of the blue to see his mistress who lived in Ecuador. So it was just my mom, older sister, my baby sister, and me. He never cared what that did to us, he never cared how much pain he caused my mom, he never cared that he ruined our family, but most of all he did not care that he was leaving a new born to grow up without a father. I once had my dad on a pedestal. I would always wish to find someone to love me the way I thought my dad loved my mom. Now, all I ever wish for is to never find a man like him because he is not even a man, no real man abandons a family for a 26-year-old girl who got involved with a married man.

Two years passed since he told my mom he was done and my mom kicked him out of the house, and in those two years he got his mistress pregnant and she had a little girl with my father. So I guess I have a half-sister somewhere out there, but I don't like to think about her or him or them. My mom looked fine but I still heard her cry in her room because she knew he had another family. In those two years, my mom needed a vacation. She went to her hometown in Ecuador and my dad was taking care of us while she was gone. On a Friday afternoon, I go to my grandma's house and I see my baby sister there and my grandparents tell me, "Your dad left $100, he said he has a business meeting in Vegas he'll be back tomorrow." And that same night I see photos of him, his mistress and new daughter. My dad left us to go to Ecuador while my mom was out there.

It's been four years since my dad started his affair and our lives changed. This is where we are today. I am currently now 18 years old, I go to college and I plan to move to New York next year. My older sister is turning twenty this year and goes to a great school and she's so smart. My little sister is turning three this year and she is so beautiful and smart, and my mom, the one who suffered the most, has moved on, she is in a happy, healthy relationship with a great guy who loves her and cares for us. And as far as my father's life goes, I can't say much because he isn't involved, but what I do know is that ever since he started his affair everything has gone downhill for him. My mom, my sisters, and me are all so happy. I know everyone can be happy at one point in their lives, even when you think you are at your worst, there is always something better coming. This is how my life changed at fourteen years old.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Mary .

As of right now life Is okay.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.