Education logo

Writing Dialogue

This is not a class or me telling how, it is my experience while learning

By harry hoggPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Writing Dialogue
Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

Just my own experience.

I’ve heard that talking to oneself was once considered a sign that you need taking away and putting in a straitjacket. You’ve only to stand on a street corner and everybody who passes you will appear as someone talking to themselves. Of course, this is not true, they are simply talking into a cell phone. But did you ever listen in? I can’t count the number of times I’ve walked alongside a person talking on a cell phone, not to be rude, or intrude on their conversation, but listening to their speech.

I write as an old man, having had no tuition, not even a book. Had I read more as a child, I’d be a more complete writer today, though I don’t know if I’d be a better writer.

Dialogue is conversation and nothing more. Characters talk to each other, so shouldn’t they sound like real people? I like this idea because then all I’d have to do is transcribe a person’s conversation, and there’s my real person on the page. I’m done.

I’ve learned it’s not that simple — but it’s not that complicated to write dialogue.

Real conversation may sound like this:

"Er, Jim, like, have you heard the latest thing, like, on, ya know, what’sis name, you know, er, I mean the guy, you know, who’s like in the news all the time — "

In direct transcription, I can’t accurately indicate where vowels drag, consonants double and so on. Written this way, I don't get to describe the melody of the voice, watch body language, and not suffer all the hesitations and indirectness and irrelevancies than when I read write transcript.

The writer cannot reproduce real speech. End of story!

Instead, I learned what any good writer learns. I can approximate real speech, and in doing so learn that dialogue should be quicker and more direct than real speech.

There is no need for dialogue unless there’s a point to be conveyed. It is about finding the right balance between realism and economy of speech.

To make realistic dialogue--to create a distinctive level of diction, allow some characters to speak in fragments, others in complete sentences; some in slang, some in professional jargon, others in standard English. Dialogue should convey a sense of spontaneity but eliminate the repetitiveness of real talk.

When I began to work out that most important part of dialogue, I found it takes place in body language and in the exposition between the lines. Good dramatic dialogue is multi-layered, so that in addition to body language and direct meaning, there’s another parallel meaning.

Every sentence spoken in a piece of fiction ought to convey some kind of information. Dialogue brings us closer to the characters and their conflicts. When I need history, philosophy, biology, and most other sorts of information, I put them in the narrative, unless my character happens to be a bloody historian. Then I’m screwed!

Getting it right.

Another lesson learned. When characters in a scene begin talking, after lengthy discourse, I lost track of which character was talking, where he was, and what the hell he was doing. This usually occurred because I became aware of repeats in dialogue attribution, so compensated by cutting away tags — resulting in lots of “fluffy floater” quotes.

I started to do away with adverbial modifiers for attributions, such as: he said hotly, she said coolly, anyway, you get my drift. Used in moderation I guess these aren’t so bad, (although many will argue that a stronger verb choice is better than the verb/adverb construction) but when we start seeing several per page their effect becomes both diluted and will annoy the hell out of a good writer. More importantly, while describing too much how conversation is being spoken — it becomes more telling in nature than showing.

When every attribution I wrote was, he snarled, she snapped, he interjected, she declared, he asserted, she affirmed, he announced, well, I drove myself nuts!

I kept one little rule in mind: There’s nothing wrong with the word ‘said.’

It’s okay— really.

I appreciate you coming by. This is not a lesson on dialogue, hell knows I'm not a teacher, it is a sample of the experiences when writing and from which came the way I like to write dialogue.

how to
1

About the Creator

harry hogg

My life began beneath a shrub on a roundabout in Gants Hill, Essex, U.K. (No, I’m not Moses!) I was found by a young couple leaving the Odeon cinema having spent their evening watching a Spencer Tracy movie.

The rest, as they say, is history

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)11 months ago

    ❤️😉📝❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.