Education logo

World Education

The Ultimate Self-Education—PolyInnovator

By Dustin Miller PolyInnovatorPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
“Education in five to 10 years will become modular, omnichannel, and lifelong. We are going to make it so,” said Anant Agarwal, CEO of edX, during a higher-education innovation summit hosted by the U.S. Department of Education. Source: IBL News

I believe 100 percent, that in the future our education will be modular. One that will give way into a lego-like combination of stackable credentials. That idea was sparked from Anant Agarwal the CEO of edX, so I want to give him props to the initial idea.

However I want to take it a step further, as education isn't just the process of getting credentials, and pieces of paper for a job.

The prospect of learning is one of self-development, self-improvement, and self-education.

Each area has its own importance—Focused, gradual, and lifelong respectively.

You could almost think of those as 'PolyInnovator's Three Big Content Pillars,' if you put it in marketing terms.

Focused Self-Development

In order to change ANYTHING in your life you need to expect something in your outputs to change.

You get what you give after all.

Meaning you have to put in the effort to see something happen.

Self-development is the process of eliminating negative progress, and then instill positive changes.

Gradual Self-Improvement

The constant process of improving yourself is like a hamster wheel, but the fact of the matter is that if you stop then you fall behind.

The longer you wait in that stagnancy the worse it gets.

So before you can pursue education, then you need to create a development path, then improve upon it.

Constantly aim for greatness, if at the very least greater than you were before.

Lifelong Self-Education

You can even put college and school into this one. Though people often perceive education as the same as school. I can assure you it is not.

Education is something YOU go after, not something that is given or expected of you. Now I expect of you, but that is my persuasion.

A degree should be able to modified at will, and be contoured to the individual learner.

In this day and age there a plethora of technologies, and platforms giving rise to the autodidact in all of us.

Four Pillars Philosophy

I created what I call the "Four Pillars Philosophy", which is a self-development combined with self-improvement oriented modern lifestyle.

This way people could organize their efforts, and keep their four main areas of life effectively.

They are as follows:

  • Mind Pillar
  • Body Pillar
  • Spirit Pillar
  • Emotions Pillar

How you go about pursuing them basically comes down to which needs the most attention first. Then take a self-improvement route by maintaining that first one, while aiming to improve the others.

One thing to note is that they all impact each other for good and bad.

About PolyInnovator

An image I made for the website, but it fits for this post well too! :)

I started the PolyInnovator brand because of a self-education project of mine called the "D.I.Y. Degree," which is inspired by those who pursued online education like me. The process was creating a massive list of courses, books, and articles, etc... That would lead me to establishing a career in three main areas. Those areas would create a synergy into one lifelong career.

One I may add that would take lifelong learning!

Those three areas are:

  • Global Sustainability Development
  • Innovation/Project Management
  • Social Entrepreneurship

Most of the content I create is geared towards building that brand, and more importantly helping others achieve their own education goals. Often through helping them with their own degrees.

I am working on a new site called "PolyInnovator Academy" where I will be creating a course ('Pilot Course' in particular for those who are curious) based around creating YOUR D.I.Y Degree.

This will lead into other course programs, e-books, and all the online content I create. I hope to have it all up (the course and site) by the end of the year. Though, December is often the hardest month for me emotionally and financially. As the season really gets my mood down, and often my day job takes a dip in this time of year. I know that is a bit forward to tell an audience, but I want to be upfront and honest with you all.

I am excited because I love teaching, I have been teaching Aquatics Fitness for years (working in a pool is why the season makes it hard, though its indoors). Which has given me a chance to build my "Teaching Intelligence" as it were. Which is basically understanding pedagogy, and being able to explain concepts well to others.

If you have anything I can help you with: advice, life goal, education, or just something random. Feel free to ask me on Quora! #CTA

Cheers! -Dustin M, PolyInnovator

degree
Like

About the Creator

Dustin Miller PolyInnovator

I created a Modular Degree to pursue a higher education, autodidactic, ambition. Allowing me to create a synergy in 3 fields of innovation:

Global Sustainability Development

Innovation and Project Management

Social Entrepreneurship

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.