Education logo

Why Music is Important

Music

By Kelly VedderPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Why Music Is Important

Believe it or not, some schools have removed their music program. When I heard that, I was just shocked. There I was, interviewing for a substitute music teacher position at a preschool. I got the job and I knew this was my calling.

Music has been an unknown passion of mine. The roles it has played in my life are singing in the chorus at school, a church chorus (children and adults), and two school musicals. As my nieces and nephew were small, I would sing to them. I also lead kids in song in daycare centers I worked at. You could always find me singing. So to follow this passion, I bought a guitar and I am trying to start a band. I have been teaching myself to play and to write lyrics. I'm thinking of getting a fiddle and bass guitar.

Music is important. It helps children learn easier. Music helps relieve stress and boost your mood. You find it everywhere. You hear it on the radio, as you work out, wedding receptions, and so much more. People love to dance and sing. Music helps us express ourselves. The music builds excitement in movies and concerts.

With all the music in the world, people have found their true talent. Music and art needs to be in public schools, receptions, helping people find their passion, and knowing if music is something they should pursue.

There are contests and competitions for singing. There are competitions in the music field, and it's great therapy. According to interview with a student he loves music. He has a guitar and he listens to music on his phone all day.

Some people have music playing all the time at home, making it more relaxing and breaking the silence. I remember always having a radio in all my classrooms. I use to bring my cd player with my headphones to school and listen to it on the bus. I sing and dance all the time. As I'm watching TV now, the commercials catch my attention with music. I take my guitar out and play music for the farm animals. They seem to like it. It's musical appreciation in the barn.

"Music education is an important aspect of providing children with a well-rounded education. When allowed to work in harmony with other subjects and areas of study, music helps children grow in self-esteem, build essential skills and prepare for bright futures".: according to a google search. You can tell how music brings out smiles and laughter. When I would look after my nieces, we would always put on a talent show. Now, one of us does the singing and acting, one of us plays the drums and sings, and the other one plays the ukulele and sings.

My niece sings and plays the ukulele. All four girls gave the family a nice show at holiday time.I introduced them to music. Which makes sense because my nieces and nephews, that I spend most time with, are into music.

Another Google search says "Music can transform the emotions and feelings of the people within no time. It can lessen the stress, pain, struggle, distraction and bring positivity and calmness in our daily life. Music holds the power to bring people together in different ways." You also need to be sure you listen to the right music. There are songs out there that talk about violence and swears. Which could affect the positivity of joy of music.

There are many types of music. Everyone has their own opinion and likes different kinds of music, related to their personality.

With the conflicts in the world and life, music helps escape the everyday issue. Play some tunes.

By : Kelly Vedder

high school
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.