Education logo

Why I Can't Stand Education Anymore

The Opportunity to Break Free When I Reach 18

By Bethany GordonPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
2
Geography: one of the subjects I used to enjoy and now I hate.

Honestly, for the past few weeks, I have been crying, stressed out, and exhausted over exams.

Five years ago, I dreamed about going to university abroad to study architecture in one of the Ivy League schools such as Yale and Harvard to broaden my horizons and to explore new places. I used to come home from school and research university accommodation, majors and minors, and of course, admission requirements. It was my obsession.

Since then my thoughts have gradually changed over time as I looked more into successful entrepreneurs who don't have a higher education qualification. These include billionaires such as Richard Branson and Mark Zuckerberg. I admire how much these people achieved so much throughout their careers by just taking risks and finding new ideas that changed the way we live. I began to watch more documentaries on entrepreneurs and CEO life stories and I guarantee that 90 percent of the ones that I watched included the world's leading innovators coming from disadvantaged backgrounds.

The point that I'm trying to make is that there is so much more in life than just sitting in a classroom and taking exams 24/7. After all that we battle for the same boring jobs that we think will make us happy in life. Now, this may work for some people. But no no, not for me, and the millions of others out there. I've learned so much about myself over the past two years and what I really want life.

Ever since I was young I always wanted to have my business, be my own boss, and be in charge of my own destiny. Now that I'm 17, I still have that same ambition in life. Having the interest in cooking and baking I have an innovative idea that's within that sector that could possibly change the way we live our lives. Obviously, I'm not going to say what it is as I don't want anyone to be copying me but all I'm trying to say is I see the impossible possible.

You may have noticed I'm getting a bit off topic about education but the reason why I'm writing today is to let you know that you don't need to sit through class after class in order to reach your potential. These past few months I have been so focused on schoolwork and revision that I haven't had time to focus on my passion. Food and baking. With all the coursework and exam preparation, it's made me think twice about what I enjoy and what I don't. After all the years in education, I'm really starting to hate my subjects and being put off by the fact that one hour 30 minutes (exam time) will be determined if I succeed or not. Waste of my time. All I want to do is break free and start a new chapter in my life. I'm tired of putting my love for baking aside to do subjects that I hate, I'm tired of being surrounded by the same people for six years that laugh at me by the way I look and have no shame in doing it. I'm sick of it. I want to travel, explore, and meet new people rather than be stuck in the same bubble. I want to kick off my career within the hospitality industry so sooner the day will come when I open my own business. I need to do the things in life that others don't dare do as they all have a same boring dream (people think they have astonishing dreams and careers paths that stand out from everybody else but trust me they're all the same).

To sum this up, all I'm saying is doing further education is not going to get you anywhere if you have a dream or ambition that your set on that has nothing to do with university/college. Don't go to uni for the sake of going just to get a qualification by sitting in lectures and having the 'the university experience'. Waste of time and money. For all of you that are reading this just remember to be on top the world and focus on what you want. Not only that but your life is worth much more than paper after paper.

student
2

About the Creator

Bethany Gordon

Fun, quirky articles to keep you entertained. Instagram: hellobethanygordon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.