Education logo

What Teacher Shortage?

Finding a job with no experience

By Kelsey WindsPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
What Teacher Shortage?
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

You would think with the lack of teachers entering the field and the obscene amount leaving, it would be easy for a young, passionate, wannabe educator like myself to find a job. I have found a love for teaching English (literature not the language) to students from middle school to high school; helping them fall in love with the handheld portals we call books brings excitement to my life in a way no other career option has been able to. And while it's true the market is bountiful with open positions I can (and have) applied for, it seems the only way to get offered a position is to have experience. But how do I get experience if no one offers me a job? Even better, I do have experience.

I took too long of a break between obtaining my undergrad and now finishing my graduate program, which gave me plenty of time to work in a school. Every day I was in a classroom, first as a substitute teacher, then as a paraprofessional. For four years I worked with some of the best teachers, learning what I could before I went back to school to get my MAT and two Teacher Certifications. I made the decision to get a certification for English as well as my Teacher of Students with Disabilities (TOSD) after working full-time as a paraprofessional in resource rooms. By the time I was completing my student teaching, I felt like an already competent teacher, receiving admiration from my fellow classmates, praise from my Cooperating Teacher (who, by the way, was fabulous), and an overall round of applause from those who observed me. I was able to get a Long-Term Leave Replacement before I even graduated, so tell me why is it every job interview I've gone to has told me I did a great job and I have a bright future, but they're recommending a different candidate?

Because at the end of the day, passion and the willingness to go to every professional development available to make myself the perfect teacher just is not enough today, and I don't think anyone prepares you for the absolute gut-wrenching heartbreak you feel when you get another "Thank you for your application, but we'll be moving on with someone else" phone call or email. That's if that district even has the decency to call or email you and let you know you didn't get the job. Imagine how it feels to wait two weeks for a phone call only for you to have to reach out to them to be rejected. Do you know what else no one prepares you for? The depths of debt you fall into while doing your student teaching. Not having a real job for a year while you are trying to pay rent and afford to live in northern New Jersey is not an easy feat. I have not lived with or relied on my parents since I was 18 years old, and trying to stay afloat this past year while racking up more bills has been disheartening and stressful. I find myself in a constant state of stress, never feeling relaxed even when I go on vacations or have an actual day to myself.

For the past month, instead of celebrating my accomplishments like graduating, obtaining a Master's (something I never thought I would be able to do), and obtaining two Teaching Certifications (Teacher of English and TOSD), I feel defeated. I know it's only up from here, but I just wish I knew when I'd actually feel like I'm doing something right again.

teacher

About the Creator

Kelsey Winds

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    KWWritten by Kelsey Winds

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.