Education logo

What qualities define aneffective teacher?

Unpacking the Traits of a Successful Educator

By Chabane MustaphaPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
1

I'm deeply intrigued by the question: "What differentiates an exceptional teacher from a good one?" Over the years, I've amassed 26,000 responses to this query from a diverse array of schools. My research spanned from the most impoverished schools in Los Angeles to suburban institutions in Texas, and even elite private schools abroad. Despite 24 years of teaching experience, I remain bewildered by this question. Today, I aim to share the lessons I've gleaned from these thousands of students and emphasize the importance of truly hearing what students have to say.

One aspect that has stood out is the reluctance of educational institutions to engage with this question. Schools often shy away from seeking students' input, largely driven by fear. They hesitate to discover what students truly think because they underestimate the students' earnestness. Allow me to share a poignant response I received: "A great teacher eats apples" (accompanied by laughter). I confess that my initial reaction was dismissive, deeming it as mere silliness. Yet, this answer recurred persistently. I pondered, "Could there be more to this?" So, I decided to start eating apples, throughout the day, in class, and in the hallway. To my surprise, students began giving me apples and would exclaim with delight, "You're eating an apple!" and I would respond, "I know!" This simple act symbolized our relationship, signifying goodwill and trust. For a significant duration, I missed this crucial message.

"A great teacher is chill" is another response I encountered. When students say a great teacher is "chill," they essentially convey the message of not taking things too seriously, maintaining composure in all situations, and avoiding becoming overwhelmed. They have their unique way of communicating their desires, and we ought to pay heed. I'm a parent to two grown kids, and I had to learn a distinct language when they were teenagers. Their responses like "Fine" or "OK" concealed more complex sentiments, which I could only fathom by asking more questions. Kids yearn for us to grasp their perspectives, but they also appreciate our role in ensuring their well-being and safety. Their language is intricate, and it's high time that adults genuinely listened.

One recurring pattern I observed after years of collecting responses is that when I asked about great teachers, students often mentioned, "A great teacher loves to teach," followed, in 70% of cases, by "A great teacher loves to learn." Students don't often witness teachers learning alongside them; instead, they perceive teachers solely as content experts. But what if educators acknowledged their role as learners too? Imagine a teacher walking into a classroom, saying, "I don't have all the answers today, but I can't wait to learn with you." This would inspire students by highlighting the importance of learning.

The response "A great teacher isn't a teacher" initially offended me, but students clarified that a great teacher is not confined to the classroom. To illustrate this, I harken back to my personal experience of learning to ride a bike with my mom. The process was practical, with no academic rigmarole. In contrast, we often subject children to a structured, theoretical approach to learning, which undermines their engagement and enthusiasm.

"A great teacher understands that they have a life outside of school." This response sheds light on the fact that students recognize the distinction between a teacher's life inside and outside of school. We must understand that students' lives are profoundly different from ours during school hours. Yvette, a challenging student, taught me this lesson. Although she had a reputation for defiance, I later discovered her struggles, but I had initially failed to listen.

"A great teacher sings" might be the most perplexing response I've encountered. It baffled me until Danny, a class clown, turned in this response. To experiment, I sang my class agenda one day, which led to an unexpected standing ovation. This incident taught me that great teachers are humble, willing to take risks, and not limited by fear. Instead of being seen as experts, what if we prioritized teachers' understanding of students?

Surprisingly, students receive zero formal listening instruction in school, despite listening being a crucial skill in life and business. We should earnestly listen to our students, as they hold the potential for greatness. By soliciting and truly hearing their insights, we can revolutionize education and transform our schools. Thank you.

degreetrade schoolteacherstudenthow tohigh schoolCONTENT WARNINGcollege
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 6 months ago

    Effective teachers are good! Great work! ♥️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.