Education logo

What Aunt Becky Taught Me

Education is not something you buy; it’s a way of life, especially for students of the system.

By Kathleen BlancoPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by rawpixel.com from Pexels

Hello, Vocal family. My name is Kathleen Blanco. I am anxiously awaiting your acceptance into your world of writers. So, with no further ado, here it goes.

The latest scandal by well-known actresses and celebrities, in particular, Aunt Becky from Full House played by Lori Loughlin, sent a powerful message to the elites and top A-list celebrities: You cannot buy your way into an education. As a former student of the CUNY system, my first thought when Apple news informed me about this was, “This would be a great topic to write about.” Next thought that ran through my mind was “How fucking dumb and daring was this move?!” The privilege and resources these top celebrities used to pull this off made me reflect on my experiences going through the former channels of the college process.

Average Americans depend on the financial aid route to lift us from our low-income backgrounds. What I mean by that is while most students do great academically, we may not have the necessary financial support to help get us through the college years. I had decent SAT scores. I excelled in history and English. I depended on financial aid with the support of federal grants like PELL, subsidized loans, and financially-academic driven programs like SEEK to ease my way into college with B+ grades from high school.I didn’t always spend it wisely (which college kid did?) but it was beneficial. I know other people who depended on financial aid assistance from the government make it out successfully into the professional world. I’ll go even further.

One of my college friends, whose name I’d rather keep unknown but will call her Naydee for the sake of this piece, graduated a few years before me from John Jay College (whoop whoop, bloodhounds!) with a BS degree in forensic psychology and a minor in counseling. She is now a program director of a non-profit organization, and did it with the help of financial aid. There was no shame in her game and hey, neither mine. I graduated from John Jay with a BA in political science and a minor in art. I am putting my degree to use by currently working in a non-profit organization in the health care system, helping children and families with disabilities and chronic health issues.

I am not angry at celebrities who use their money for altruistic purposes. I am not angry at Aunt Becky who used her privilege as an advantage. I am angry that celebrities like her push their kids to get into schools with no desire at all to pursue an education. I am highly upset that they mocked the admissions process that I used to get into school. It is one thing to be upset at people with money and privilege, and another to be mad at people who falsify their way into getting their way for someone’s ulterior motives. I stand with the latter. We, meaning students of the system, actually want to succeed; academically, professionally, and personally. As a daughter of immigrants who instilled in me the value of an education and doing things with respect and honor and dignity, these people do not earn the right to tout their horn and call it a miracle.

This serves as a reminder and a lesson for all, especially those at the top: Money can’t buy you success. Most of the times, you will have to want and work for it. Don’t be like Aunt Becky. You got this!

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Kathleen Blanco

Hey y’all. It’s your girl Kat. I am a proud Hispanic woman, Bronx native, homegrown. I am a daughter of immigrants, instilled with drive for education, values, and pursuit of social justice. I love food, people, connections and vintage.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.