Education logo

Unveiling Real Life Struggles on the Streets

A challenging, yet eye-opening experience as a student journalist

By James E. AnduyanPublished 25 days ago 3 min read
Like

“The real battle is on the streets”

I kept on hearing these words ever since I stepped my foot at the Polytechnic University of the Philippines, a state university in our country that is known to be home of progressive students who are evidently vocal about social issues.

Even though I already knew the meaning of the phrase even before, it truly hits hard when you’ve witnessed firsthand the real struggle and battles of people on the streets. I remember when I had my first internship as a journalism student, I was primarily focused on on-ground coverages, featuring individuals who were victims of injustices, mostly protesters, since my company is an alternative media whose sole focus is in the minority groups or marginalized sectors. I encountered farmers who had suffered from land grabbing and militarization, fisher folks facing the adversities of the ongoing reclamation in different areas, and drivers whose livelihoods were at risk because of the PUV modernization program.

Despite my preconceived notions about these people and various progressive organizations, I chose to continue and set aside my doubts to fulfill my responsibility not just as an intern but as an aspiring journalist in practice as well. I set my mind that these circumstances are all part of the path I am taking, and I have to do this as their stories are essential for the public to understand where are they coming from and their primary motivations that drive them to protest on the streets.

Contrary to what I had thought, I was pleasantly surprised to find out how approachable they are and how caring they are to those who are with them. Realizations hit me that there should nothing to be feared. It taught me a valuable lesson about the importance of experiencing things firsthand before jumping into conclusions. Sometimes, the things that initially instill fear end up being the ones that create unforgettable and gratifying moments in your life.

I would lie if I say that every coverage is not physically demanding. Given that our work mostly requires engaging in tasks such as attending events, covering protests, and visiting people’s livelihoods in certain areas, it is very draining. There were even instances when we had to travel to locations like Malolos, Bulacan, and Navotas, which were hours away from our homes. Apart from various locations, we also had to adapt to a fast-paced workflow to ensure timely article submissions. Following an event, our routine included transcribing, outlining, and crafting an article within a limited timeframe. Balancing these tasks with other academic responsibilities proved challenging at times, but we managed to push it through despite the difficult circumstance.

Nevertheless, despite the feeling of being exhausted, I can confidently affirm that the entire internship was worth the experience. It brought to light the significant responsibilities that come with being a journalist. Beyond being the truth-tellers, we bear the duty to immerse ourselves in diverse situations to accurately express our thoughts in articles. The stronger our connection to the subjects, the greater our drive to meticulously craft every word in our stories. The journey during my internship was truly worth cherishing.

In the years to come, I will fondly look back on this time, that once in my life, I had the opportunity to meet diverse individuals, particularly from marginalized communities. Their stories not only broadened my perspective on the realities of life but also instilled within me a profound sense of duty as a storyteller. As I navigate my way and move forward, I carry with me the lessons gleaned from these experiences, steadfast in my commitment to amplifying the voices of those in need and underserved ones.

collegestudentdegree
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.