Education logo

The Role of Education in Empowering Girls & Women

Time for change

By Malika B.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Living in a globalized world, where we are witnessing rapid technological progress, one would assume that everyone by now has decent access to education, gender related issues and other global challenges have been resolved.

Unfortunately, such situations are still observed throughout the world today. The current pandemic COVID-19 could exacerbate existing problems, especially in low-income communities with more falling into poverty, increasing unemployment rates, girls and women becoming subject to violence, and putting more girls from the most deprived backgrounds out of school. With the pandemic or without, it is important to uphold the right to education for both boys and girls.

Access to good quality education plays a crucial role in defining the future of a nation. Educating girls is of vital importance in harnessing a country’s fullest potential to achieve social and economic development.

I have experienced the power of education, which gave one girl a voice, equipped her with confidence, and created space for me to echo it without fear.

Image for post

From the age of two, I was exposed to a diverse community, living in different countries that introduced me to varying cultures, traditions, and customs, where I acquired good educational attainment.

I was fortunate to be raised in a family where education was always a priority, but I was oblivious that the future awaiting me was a total contrast. I fell into a society where the value of men prevailed. Women were often perceived as objects with the primary obligation of marrying, taking care of the household, and giving birth.

I am speaking from personal experience locked into an abusive relationship not allowed to raise my voice nor express my opinion because I was a female. Where I was constantly reminded that I was nothing but a zero. However, I never let such statement dismantle me because my parents had sown a seed of self-respect and resilience in me. My parents strongly believed that educating their children, including daughter, was their primary responsibility. So it should be for every mother and father.

Despite cultural and traditional norms, I decided to put an end of such abuse and was driven to go forward to prove that girls and women are more than zero. They are somebody with value.

Education allowed me to look at the world with different eyes; most importantly, it equipped me with the knowledge to be self-reliant and strength to survive all the challenges I would face as a divorced woman. Access to education for all will act as a strong foundation to elevate the voices of girls and women.

Girls from all across the globe should have access to decent and quality education, be protected from abuse, and society should uphold their rights to education and freedom.

Empowering both male and female will help alleviate poverty, maintain international peace and security, tackle climate change, and promote sustainable development. Without nurturing the future generation, it is impossible to achieve economic and social progress.

Education is a long term investment. It can be one of the biggest challenges and yet it can be a nation’s most significant accomplishment.

how to
2

About the Creator

Malika B.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.