Education logo

The Perks of Working With Kids

It's not for everyone but if it's for you, you know these are true.

By KaciePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dear Vocal Readers,

Oh, kiddos, what a joy they are to work with. And I know some of you may be rolling your eyes or laughing when you read that statement but I really mean it! Of course there are parts of the job that aren't the greatest but when weighed against the cons of most other jobs I would take working with kids in a heartbeat. I currently work as a 1:1 aide at a preschool for general education and special needs kiddos and here are a few things I look forward to and appreciate every day.

1) There's something different every day

Now let's be honest, who enjoys doing the same thing every single day? Some people might actually enjoy the monotony of something like an office job but that is definitely not for me. I personally love doing new and creative things each day. Whether it is a new craft or a new song we are learning, there is always something new and cute to participate in.

2) We get to go outside and play

This part more so applies to when the weather is nice but come on who doesn't love playing outside? We have a nice playground to run around on and playing chase with the kids help all of us feel young again! Granted it does show me who out of shape I am, I still love it nonetheless. It's a break from the stale inside air and a refreshing and fun section of the day to get your energy back (and out).

3) You get to sing all the time

This one is for sure biased as I love any type of music and getting any chance to partake is incredibly enjoyable to me. Nobody is going to judge if your voice is good or bad and listening to the kids belting their little hearts out is simply adorable. Don't even get me started on when they sing and dance because that is a sight to cherish and it melts even the coldest of hearts.

4) You get to be silly

Let's take a real good look at most jobs for a moment. In most jobs, can you do something like pretend to be a giant? Could you maybe do something along the lines of pretending to sleep in a tent with star lights above your head? What about have a water day where you get to soak your coworkers and clients? I'm guessing the answer would be no. Working with kids gives you so much leeway in how silly you can be at your job. Of course we take our jobs seriously and the safety of the kids is our top priority, but we also get so many chances to just have fun. We can have fun with the kids and other staff members as well. You can let out some of that adult stress you have been carrying and get to remember, even if for just a moment, the joy of being a child.

5) It prepares you for if "that time" ever comes

This is going to be a real short and simple point. I don't know if I can ever foresee myself having kids. But I can tell you with 100% certainty that if I do, I will be ready (or at least more ready than most). And for that, I can imagine I would be extremely grateful.

6) You know you are making a difference

Is it maybe too lame to point out how children are our future? Well, even if it is I am going to say it anyway because they really are. You as a teacher are helping to shape the lives of the children you support. If they remember you or not, you helped to guide a tiny soul in their life. You can help put them on the right path and model for them how to be the best person they could possibly be. You go home feeling good about the work you are doing, and you can smile knowing that you made a difference in someone's life for the better.

Those are just a few of the perks I could muster up in these past 30 minutes! Obviously there are so many more I could add on but we will leave that for another time. If you are wondering which career-path to go down really consider working with kids. It requires patience and hard work, but as you can see from up above it is worth every second.

Sincerely from the mind of a childcare worker,

Kacie

teacher
Like

About the Creator

Kacie

Just an aspiring writer trying to gain experience :)

Follow my adorable kitties on Instagram and Tiktok @joethehoe.finnforthewin <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.