Education logo

The left hand stigma

When the right way to do things feels wrong.

By Giovanni ProfetaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
The left hand stigma
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

During my childhood days, I was victimized as part of a marginalized minority. Obviously, I was not aware that something was wrong with me. Until out of a sudden, I was bullied in class for having problems to write a simple sentence on the class board. The school teacher tried to correct my posture, making it awkward for me to keep on writing the sentence. As a kid with a still developing brain inside of my skull, that was nothing that a short visit to the school psychologist couldn’t solve right? You might be wondering what was so offensive that had to be addressed to the principal office? I was standing on the board, with a position that favored writing with my left hand but I was actually writing with my right hand. I was 6-year-old when that incident occurred. I was the first of many.

My family on my Mother’s side is very religious. For them, Left-handed people were always mean and sinister. I grew up as a converted right-handed for years. I had to deal with a myriad of problems, manual activities and sports were difficult and awkward to say the least. One of the most dramatic experiences occurred when I was 13 year-olds. I was a student in a music academy. One weekend, practicing for my Monday test, I had an epiphany. What if I change the position of the guitar strings and play as a left-handed? I did it, Immediately, I noticed a change in my dexterity. Chord progression came to me so fluidly, my fingers moved with grace from one fret to the next. In a matter of minutes, I mastered the single note exercises. It felt like a veil have been lifted from my very own eyes.

The following Monday, armed with swagger I took my instrument and placed it of my lap. The instructor told me to read the sheet with a mix of boredom and sleepiness. I began to play to the best of my ability as a left-handed. I was performing the task without any disturbances at all, until he placed his hand on the neck of my guitar to stop the guitar strings from vibrating. He got closer and with a menacing tone asked me, “What are you doing?” my response was short and unapologetic, “This way is more comfortable for me, it feels natural.” In an angry rant, frowning his forehead in obtuse disbelieve he asked me, “You write with your right hand right?” I nodded to respond without saying a single word. He managed to say, “You write with your right hand, I won’t teach you otherwise.” With anger bursting in my chest I stood up and said, “Ok, I guess you’re not my teacher anymore.” I took my instrument and left the room without any remorse. That was the end of my guitar lessons and the beginning of a new struggle. After that incident, I realized that I do most of my daily chores with my left hand without even noticing it.

Why there’s so much prejudice on being left-handed? Let’s start with this incredible fact; Left-handedness is mentioned 25 times in the Judeo-Christian Bible. Describing those with that trait as evil, cursed to the everlasting alluring malignancy of the Devil itself. It was also believed that Eve was developed from the left side of Adam’s body. As a result, left-handedness was associated with femininity, and consequently with inferiority. During the Spanish inquisition, the Catholic Church would condemn and execute those who use they left hand. Another interesting fact is that during the time of the Salem Witch Trials, being left-handed was one of the evidences they use to implicate those suspected of witchcraft.

Things started to change by the turn of the 20th Century. Some scholars began to dig deep to find some answers on what makes left-handed people different. Being left-handed changed from “The indelible mark of the Devil” to a biological abnormality. Subsequently, labeling those who possess this trait as inferior, prone to commit crimes, sexual deviation conduct, and vicious deeds.

During those days, to have a left-handed student was considered a challenge. Some schools believed that it was their duty to convert the student and make them do things “The right way.” Pupils were re-trained to write with their right hand. Not taking in consideration the physical challenge and psychological distress that it can lead to. According to my research, during the 1970s’ left-handed students were considered academically inferior and susceptible to mental illnesses.

If we look at the etymology of the word “Left,” in old English “Lyft” means “Weak, idle, foolish.” Whereas right meant “Just, fair, proper.” Another historical reason for the infamous association for the left hand with something impure is the fact that in the in the pre-plumbing era of society, it was mandatory to cleanse yourself with your non-dominant hand. Due to this social norm, it was considered immoral and filthy to use that hand to anything else. Imagine passing the bread with the wrong hand, OUTRAGEOUS!

We all have to admit that is pretty silly to categorize and victimize one segment of the population just because they do things differently. Being left-handed is just a physical trait, nothing more. Since ancient times people like me had to carry the stigma of a forced conversion. In a way, this is the cross some of us lefties have to carry. Imagine that all this happens to you for your innate inclination to write with your left hand.

If you know someone carrying the same cross as me, feel free to share my story to them and give me a "Heart" down below. For me it was a cathartic experience to express my frustration, I hope that at least was entertaining for you to read.

high school
1

About the Creator

Giovanni Profeta

Swimming through life one stroke at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.