Education logo

The First Year of College

And How I Got Through it

By Malea MasseyPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
East Carolina University 

I’m you’re typical girl from a small town where everyone knows everybody, and you can hardly get away with anything. So you can only imagine how excited I was to start school four and a half hours away from my hometown in the fall of 2017.

I graduated high school, lived the summer up with my friends and counted down the days until move-in day to my dorm. I spent my days on Pinterest, looking at decor ideas and texted with my roommate, who I had never met before, and made plans upon plans. Before I knew it... move-in day actually happened. I never knew it would be so hard to say goodbye to the little town I called home, which I couldn’t wait to get out of.

I moved all my stuff in and unpacked everything consisting of my grey, coral, white, and gold-themed room and my roommate and I spent the evening getting to know a little bit about one another as we arranged everything how we wanted it. I had a week to settle in before my classes started and I got used to the college life very quickly.

Once classes started, I realized what people meant by college being their happiest, most stressful years ever. And, I was only in my first semester. In high school, everything came easy to me with academics. I had good grades, never studied, balanced school, sports, work, and a social life. I had to drastically change all that very early on in the semester. I lived out of my planner, color coded everything... I even had to schedule “me” time to keep my sanity. I was so consumed in trying to balance my school work, that I forgot what it was like to be “free.” I was at school, away from home, truly independent, and I was spending all my hours in the library until 5 AM, cramming my brain with knowledge that it eventually began to hurt me more than help me.

I took a step back from everything. I still got my work done, but I stopped being so hard on myself and began to be better for myself. Once I started living the actual college life, I was much better off. But by that time, winter break had arrived, so I had a month to recuperate.

I went home, and the day after going home, my car was totaled. I went from being independent at school, not relying on anybody or telling anybody anything, to relying on everybody and telling everybody everything. It made for a very stressful month home, when I should’ve been relaxing as I had survived my first semester in college.

When I returned back to school, I had a fallout with my roommate, so I got a new room assignment and ended up in a room without a roommate, so I got a whole room to myself, which was incredible. Not only that, but I also knew how to balance everything a little bit better than the first semester. Classes started, I got back on my independent routine, and life was good again.

It was good up until a certain point, however. You know that saying: “when it rains, it pours?" Well, I got a very good taste of that. I had multiple family issues and drama that was really taking a toll on me, then I lost two of the closest friends I had made here at school, all right around the time that my school workload was continuously piling up and didn’t seem to end. Saying that I was stressed is an understatement.

Needless to say, I couldn’t afford to slack off with everything going on. So I picked myself up, and here I am. In my final week of my spring semester classes, with my finals starting next week. And, although you have only heard a bit about my year, every lesson I have learned in my first year I will take on with me for a very long time. And if you don’t soak in any information that I have offered, please take these tips with you when you begin school and when you’re on your own:

  • always moisturize your face (trust me)
  • have good walking shoes
  • get an ENO or hammock for sunny days
  • get a cute, pretty planner and actually use it
  • take lots of photos
  • don’t be afraid to ask for help with your work
  • keep your room organized and make your bed everyday (start this good habit now and you will be so much happier)
  • keep in touch with family while you’re away
  • take advantage of all opportunities (school spirit at games, play intramural or club sports, go to shows on campus, etc.)

Thank you all for reading!!

-Malea

college

About the Creator

Malea Massey

Sophomore in college who has no idea what she wants to do with her life

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Malea MasseyWritten by Malea Massey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.