Education logo

The De Anza Paralegal Program

Why I Need It

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

As far as this program goes, I’m looking at all my options to get a better paying job and how to get there. I know I have to get into the technical writing program, for example. I also have paralegal studies printed out by now, which I’m looking at because I want to figure out how long it will take me to complete. I need at least 48 units and classes I can transfer to UCLA when the time comes. I’m busy trying to figure out the stuff I need to learn, and I have to enroll in online English 1A and 1B. I have other interests, besides, in the field of student government, drawing, martial arts, speech, and more art classes.

The De Anza Paralegal program entails taking the following classes:

  • PARA 67
  • Law Office Management for Paralegals
  • PARA 86 Legal Analysis
  • PARA 92A Partnerships and Corporations
  • PARA 94 Introduction to California Law
  • PARA 95
  • Overview of American Law
  • PARA 96A
  • Introduction to Legal Research and Writing
  • PARA 97A Civil Litigation Procedures
  • PARA 97B Advanced Civil Litigation Procedure
  • PARA 84, Trial Preparation
  • PARA 85
  • Intellectual Property Law
  • PARA 87 Personal Injury and Tort Litigation
  • PARA 89 Landlord Tenant Law
  • PARA 91A California Family Law
  • Business 18
  • Business Law, which is an online class. I really have to get this show on the road.

A paralegal certificate can prepare me for working in an actual law firm. I want to work off some law school credits out here so I can transfer as a second-year student if possible. I’m not sure how to do this as I really need to see a counselor and see how well I can handle being on a crowded college campus. Going to school is something I do for fun, as well as to learn new skills. I wish I had extra income to throw at my academic career but I’m not sure if that will eventually happen.

I’m just waiting to make money so I can go to school but without overloading myself this time around. Overloading myself is never a good idea. It is why I have to be careful with how many classes I take all at once. If I work part-time, I can manage to take classes and deal with coursework. But that only depends on whether or not I have a decent, stable job.

Many things have to wait for me. I mean I’m also researching a full-blown anthropology equivalent. I’m running out of stuff I can do for myself with regard to academic research. I want to study immigration law in addition to other types of law like patent laws. I’m sure the legal research and writing class covers various situations that can transfer to a three-year legal program with a master’s in public health to boot. I’ve researched many academic programs by now. I’m learning what I want and how I’m going to have to make some concrete decisions within my newfound limitation parameters. I’m taking a huge break from Work2Future for example since I need one from the place.

Also, I need to use this piece to figure out how to pick one program and stick with it. I need to make a concrete decision about where to go, in particular to the San Jose State technical writing program. I have a whole Bachelor degree in Creative Writing that took me three years to get. I also took holistic health classes as part of what is known at San Francisco State as Segment III. I took a proficiency test for writing at state as well, and I was forced into English 414, which was an equivalency class to fix the fact I didn’t do well on the test. These days, I’m treated and I can do well.

college
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.