Education logo

The Best of the Best

Math Can Be Fun

By Kimmie HitePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Dear Ms. Garst,

Even though I just met you this year, it feels like I’ve gained so much trust and knowledge. In my previous years, math wasn’t my strongest subject, for a long time other students were better at math than me. They learned so fast while I learned pretty slow. Not until I met you this year did I gain this confidence in myself that I can learn as fast as other kids. You helped me when I struggled and you made me feel comfortable in case I made a mistake.

School is a topic, not every student is excited about but when I come to your class I am excited to learn. I feel like in your class I actually was able to gain the knowledge I can remember. Your strategy of teaching is so supportive and helpful and I'm glad you adjust your teaching methods to what's best for your students. Not only are you supportive to your students but you're supportive of the class and the environment. You put detail in the classroom like our own mugs for hot chocolate, coffee, or tea. I even remember helping you put up new lights because you knew these lights would benefit the kids who don't want the room to be too dark or too light.

I remember when my sister first introduced me to you, from then on I knew you were gonna be a super sweet teacher. Anna talked a lot about you, she said that you were one of her favorite teachers and even said that you made her feel comfortable. After everything she told me about you, I wanted to meet you and I was so eager to join one of your classes. I never would’ve thought that I’d have you this year, I was super excited to come to your class and I felt really proud of myself then. When I joined your class at the beginning of the school year, it intrigued me to keep wanting to join more of your classes. Now, I'm barely a sophomore and I'm going to have all my math credits completed.

Not only do you care if we comprehend what you're teaching but you make sure we're in a good state to learn. Mentally I can get frustrated with any work especially since right now we are learning College Algebra. When you saw that one day when I was struggling because I wasn't understanding and I had a ton of homework that day you understood. At that point, I felt like giving up and just going home to cry. You told me to take the weekend off and worry about it later. You heard my sniffles and hugged me telling me it was okay. After that weekend I was able to complete all my work in all my classes and I brought my grade up. From you, I have learned that it’s important to be in a good state of mind when learning.

My best friend and I always come in on our off period and you're always there ready to help. There are always other students too because they know you will help. Even when I'm struggling in my regular classes I know you are there to help and explain. A good trait about you is you have patience, I come to you when I'm struggling and it really amazes me how you can do a math problem so easily in your head and answer any questions. You can always catch any mistakes and help me practice with whatever I'm struggling with. To me, everything you say and do is genius.

One last thing I wanted to bring up was the small moments that make everyone's day. In class, I enjoy it when you talk about your journey to becoming a better teacher for us and how to make our classroom more fun. When you bring up your favorite book, “Building Thinking Classrooms in Mathematics” it really shows that you care for your students and that you are willing to improve yourself for us. Not just that but I enjoy when you make funny comments, it can really brighten someone’s day, especially when it’s at the end of the day. Even your music taste is so good. As someone that gets distracted pretty easily with music, I feel like having your music in the background has helped even just a little. Although these may seem like things you can easily forget, they aren’t, I appreciate every little thing that you have done and I hope you continue doing these small things, as it helps so many of us.

To be in complete honesty you should be known as a top teacher. You should get even more recognition for the things you do. We haven't known each other for the longest time but I just know you are a bright soul and you give so much positivity in the world. You boost up anyone and I hope anyone will boost you up too. So forth, here is my appreciation letter to you, I hope this lets you know someone like me is very grateful. You are most definitely my favorite teacher.

Sincerely, Anna Luz

student
Like

About the Creator

Kimmie Hite

Born in the Philippines as a military brat I grew up as a kid exposed to all walks of life and cultures. Currently, working on releasing self published book while living with lupus nephritis as a single mother waiting for transplant

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.