Education logo

Teacher Appreciation Week

Interview with the Founder of Ms. T’s Helping Hands

By Lamore Lifestyle Published 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

It’s teacher appreciation week! One of the most important jobs is an educator. Research has shown that the investment in early education improves not only cognitive abilities, but also critical behavioral traits like sociability, motivation and self-esteem in children. For those reasons it is extra important to highlight those molding and educating children during their earliest development stages. We had the pleasure of speaking with Terressa Brown, founder of Ms T’s Helping Hands about her backstory and her successful company.

•Tell us about yourself. Where’d you grow up? Where do you live now? What was your childhood like?

I was born and raised in Annapolis, MD to the late Donna Green, and Scott Brown. As my parents weren’t together growing up I was raised by my loving grandparents Douglas & Anita Green and the help of my godparents (parents) Ed & Colleen Moon.

I remember my mother being a single mother and me having 4 siblings two older brothers Darrelle, and KC & two younger siblings Deshawne and Rickia. And my (God) siblings Eddie & Mariah Moon. I ALWAYS played the BIG SISTER to all of my siblings. Helping my mom specifically with raising my baby sister Rickia. Taking her to the library, entertaining her and caring for her inspired me to want to work with children.

After my mothers passing in 2001 I moved in with my grandparents and two older brothers where I was raised until I moved out on my own at 18. I was in dance( tap, jazz, and ballet) took karate, had private lessons playing the piano, played the flute several years, I even wanted to work and didn’t have to. While working one day at a local grocery store I met a single mom and her family and we chatted for about 15 minutes while I assisted her with her purchase. She came in about once a week and made sure she stood in my line so she could talk to me. We than connected outside of work I did babysitting on the side for her so she could pick up extra hours at work, and to enjoy an evening out. While attending Annapolis Senior High I was in the child development program the entire four years, and worked at a day care center as an intern. I was later hired as a staff member. After high school I took continuing education courses at AACC, and was hired to be a lead teacher at an early learning center in Largo, MD.

At 21 I decided to get into hospitality for 6 years while being a part time baby sitter for a family (The Miguez family) that I’m still in contact with after them moving away. I provided afternoon care and date nights to their family for over ten years.

At 26 I left hospitality management and decided to continue my passion for children development and making a difference in their lives. I decided to become a full time nanny. I truly enjoyed it and after a few years I realized my clientele had really grown and I was getting a lot of request for occasional care, part time care etc.

I woke up and decided I don’t want to work for anyone else. I wanted to start my own business and do things at my own pace, so I decided to launch Ms. T’s Helping Hands LLC.

My business that started in February 2019 with just myself has now employed 15 other childcare providers with the same passion.

We place full time and part time Nannies in family’s homes, we do date nights, overnights, we travel with families and provide childcare for events. We’ve had the pleasure of partnering with several churches such as Union Church, The Well Church, and a Lifestyle church.

Ms. T

•What has been the most exciting part of running this business?

Being able to meet and network with new people. I work full time in the business and when people figure out who I am and I get the “are you thee Ms. T.” I get excited to see the enthusiasm from my boyfriend Devon with ideas of how I can expand my business and constantly there to help with everything. It’s heart warming to see my dream and goals of success is just as much his. Being able to see the difference I make in children’s lives. They see me and run up and give me the biggest hugs and smiles and it literally melts my heart.

•How important do you feel early childhood education is?

Early childhood education and child development is extremely important. It’s important to have providers who can assist parents when they have to be away from home and need a trustworthy person to care for their children. If the parents want a night out they know we have trusted sitters to provide.

•What's your best piece of advice for aspiring and new entrepreneurs?

Never give up, it’s not always easy you will have days where you want to give up, or feel defeated but you keep pushing. Get a mentor, and keep anything positive to yourself while pursuing your goals while you’re working hard your enemy could be working harder and praying for your failure.

•What do you have planned for the next six months?

For the first year I’m partnering with a church and opening up a Summer Camp in Bowie, MD. That’s opening June,2022 Well the rest you just have to sit back and prepare for expansion!

Connect with Ms T’s Helping Hands here

teacher
Like

About the Creator

Lamore Lifestyle

Sharing stories of those in the beauty, fashion, food and entrepreneurship space.

@lamorelifestylepr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.