Education logo

syllables in "fire"

how many? Vocal, care to chime in?

By Jay,when I writePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
syllables in "fire"
Photo by Anna Louise on Unsplash

I think you can guess why I am making this little post. I am writing for Vocal's Quadru-haiku challenge, and need to know something that is really important. I also want to hear you chime in. How did you interpret the usage of "fire" in your haiku and when you say the word in every day sentences?

If you are unaware of what the prompt is, then I'll just give you the gist: haiku on the 4 elements

As we know:

earth=1 syllable

water=2 syllables

air=1 syllable

But, fire could be argued for 1-2 and I am unsure if Vocal stands by 1 syllable, 2 or if they just give you a bone if they see that the line needs 7 syllables and they figured you're using fire as 2 because there's no way you miscounted or forgot how many syllables were in the other words.

Nuance? Depends on? Help!

So, I did look it up because I wanted to make sure. My brain was telling me one

but then, I was like...wait, no...

Then, the embarrassment took over

Brittanica says both and you can rhyme it with higher or not (higher=2 syllables).

I could rhyme it with higher

or

wire...

except, now wire apparently may or may not have---nope. We're focused on fire.

(RhymeZone says that wire is in the 1 syllable category by the way, and when I cross reference/check to see what it'd classify fire under as wire's rhyme, it tells me 1 syllable)

Quara and Reddit weren't very helpful.

How Many Syllables argues that it is 1 simply because a syllable is the sound of a vowel, and the "e" in Fire is silent.

That was what I thought at first (plus...it's a short word...honestly, that made me think that it was 1 syllable too. Which isn't the best thing to base it on I suppose).

I figured that even though I said the word with 2 syllables that it did not really matter because I could either be saying it incorrectly, putting too much emphasis on one part, or pronunciation just did not have to do with it for this word. I also don't pronounce it that way all the time. I mumble a quick, monosyllabic fire, and move on with my life.

And as much as I try to I cannot recall going over this word in the first grade (what the heck were we doing in kindergarten?) when my teacher sat us on the carpet and had us clap out the syllables to many words. Maybe she intentionally avoided this one because she wasn't sure about it herself! Maybe she didn't want to argue with a first grader.

Anyway, I do see how it could be 1-2. I just need to know how Vocal feels about it? Ask the orb!

And you?

How are you feeling about it?

I can't argue with Brittanica, but I can argue with Reddit.

I just don't want to submit something and be laughed at. I think that they would have added how many we are to be sticking to in the rules, but since I am not 100% sure...I must be nervous! I must now think, think, overthink, around think, sit and...think, stand and...you guessed it...I'm currently trying to watch a cartoon, but I keep on...

Thinking about fire and syllables or...syllable?

I think I've found a funny way around having to say the full word in my poem, but now I'm worried that won't be accepted because it isn't the full word.

Would an accent play a role? What about caramel/carmel?

I am now trying to reach 600 words because that is required. I may never know peace. It is surely possible. Ha!

Words are fun.

Note: syllable is no longer a word to me.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    . Great job! Keep up the fantastic work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.