Education logo

Strategic Human Resource Management

Berkeley College Edition

By The Vibe Podcast Published about a year ago 3 min read
1

The level of ignorance and quite frankly stupidity at the workplace scares me.

People own their work place title but not their positions.

I am proud of myself for continuing my education and I am extremely proud of myself getting out of the Management game.

I love hospitality but my gig is reading and writing. I have got to work to accomplish my dreams and I write on my life experiences in the hopes of helping others.

I am most proud of myself for never throwing out my college notes.

This blog is for those in Management, please take notes because chances are you are not qualified for your position.

This blog is for young adults new to the work force.

I salute you, young men and women but I am very sorry in this part of life you will learn that the workplace is very much like the school yard.

Please take notes because chances are you will have a disrespectful Supervisor/Manager.

The goal here is to ensure that everyone is happy and respectful toward one another.

When an employee is happy at the workplace chances are that the employee will excel in job performance. Therefore more productivity.

Let’s bring professionalism back into the workplace.

Here’s how;

Human Resource Management- System of organizational activities to attract, develop & motivate an effective and qualified workforce.

Also known as; talent, human capital, or personal management.

Criteria for strategic impact of Human Resources;

People create value- People can increase value by helping lower cost, providing something unique to customers or both. Through empowerment total quality initiatives & continuous improvement.

People at companies like, INTUIT, Net App, USAA Financial Services add to their bottom line.. talent is rare.

People are a source of competitive advantage.

Their skills, knowledge & abilities are not equally available to all competitors.

Top companies invest in hiring & training the best & the brightest employees to gain a competitive advantage.

A group of well chosen, motivated people is difficult to imitate.

People can be organized for success.

People can deliver a competitive advantage when their talents are combined & deployed rapidly to work on new assignments & at a moment’s notice, as in the effective use of teamwork & collaboration, Human Resource leaders strongly advocate at least four sets of values.

1. Strategic

2. Ethical

3. Legal

4. Financial

HR Planning involves three stages;

1. Planning- Ensure the right number & types of people are available. HR Managers must know the organizations business plans.

2. Programming- The organization implements specifics. HR’s activities, such as recruitment, training & pay systems.

3. Evaluating- Human Resources activities are evaluated to determine whether they are producing the results needed to contribute to the organization’s business plans.

I hope my school notes helps someone out. By the age of 41, I have learned that majority of folks in high places are uneducated.

I have gotten to be the Manager and Subordinate, what I have witnessed in my last three places of employment have been inhumane to say the least.

So much so that I have encouraged my son to only focus on the Arts and Education. We have bullies at the workplace and it’s really not worth the pay.

You will not pay me minimum wage and disrespect me for eight hours a day five times a week or no Sir/Ma’am you will not!

Education is costly, I share my notes to help others out there in the world do their job. I want folks to be happy they are working, I want young adults to be career driven and goal oriented.

It all starts with the self, thank you for reading my Berkeley College notes!

Knowledge is indeed power!

collegecourseshow toteacherstudent
1

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.