Education logo

School tips

Studying, Projects etc

By Joonie NPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
School life

Hello fellow schoolers, I am back with general study tips I use for my study subjects. By study subjects I mean Biology, Business and History. This combo sounds HORRENDOUS but add in math and accounting too and it’s legit DEATH. But I’m surviving…barely.

Anyways let’s get into all the nice stuff.

1) I don’t use the notes I receive from school.

The notes I receive from my teacher I find completely useless. It’s the same thing from the textbook and yet it’s expected to be written in my workbook. Why? I shall never know. Anyways the way for me to learn large pieces of information is going through short, condensed notes and not a whole essay. So what I do, mainly for biology and history is that I read the textbook. Simple? Maybe. I highlight the most important information and continue doing that till I finish a chapter. Then I go through the chapter constantly then after three days or so I make notes from what I remember and write it down in bullet form. And when I’m done I go through those notes and add in any important information that I might have missed. I think this is what people call active recall? But it really works. Instead of having to go through 30 pages of notes, I can have the exact same notes but in like 5-7 pages. Which is quite nice in my opinion.

2) YouTube videos

Okay now this is interesting. Finding a helpful youtube video depends on the subject. Finding a helpful biology video is utter hell in my opinion. The only YouTube video that explains stuff the way I understand is Amoeba Sisters. Other than that, I’m basically screwed for biology. For math there’s a lot. Like a lot of tutors out there. The only maths tutor that has managed to help is The Organic Chemistry Tutor. For someone who mainly specializes in Chemistry, he’s really good at explaining math. So I highly recommend him.

3) Don’t wait till the last minute.

This might have worked during the early stages of high school but believe me the moment you hit the final senior years it’s not gonna work. Studying the day before an exam will come bite you back in the neck. You CANNOT go through all the important information overnight. It’s merely impossible as your brain doesn’t do well with being overloaded with information. You might think you know the stuff but walk into the exam and your brain will shut down completely and you will forget everything. Oop! Hello fail. Rather study a piece of work everyday bit by bit or at least start studying two weeks before an exam. Minimum a week. This will give your brain enough time to absorb the work.

4) Cass Activities.

Classwork Activites aka cass activities are like mini tests that slightly boost your grade up. All I’m gonna say is do well in those activites please. Get the highest possible marks you can achieve just in case a major test doesn’t go your way. It might be rare but there will be chances where your grade is standing at a 49% and that small activity boosts it up to a 50% and boom you pass.

This isn’t a tip but rather advice.

I have a friend who last year completely lost her work ethic. She really didn’t care about her grades. All they had to be was a pass. So she did the bare minimum. She was barely scraping a pass and she was happy with it. I’m not saying that you should get As or whatever. I’m saying please try your hardest to achieve the highest grade you can get. Stop making the excuse “at least I passed” or “I’m passing so thats fine.” Try your hardest. Cause I know y’all can do it!

Finally, please remember to unwind and have some fun. Go out with your friends to skate or dance or something. Don’t spend your whole high school experience cooped up in your house. Have fun while you have the chance.

See you next time friends!

how to

About the Creator

Joonie N

I write anything that pops up in my head.

School tips, movie reviews, songs recommendations etc.

11th grader (surprisingly)

I try my best to give advice as much as I can.

I’m fun subscribe to me!

💜

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Joonie NWritten by Joonie N

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.