Education logo

Routines and Relationships

A teacher’s guide to classroom management

By Carly VisaggioPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

“Classroom Management” is such an expansive term. As a teacher, how do you manage your classroom? How does it function? How do you create a space that works for both you and your students? This question used to terrify me in interviews. I didn’t quite understand how to explain how I manage my classroom. I felt that I created a safe space where my students respected me, as well as each other, and were genuinely interested in learning. But how do I do it? What leads to that? Did I get lucky every year?

When I really sat down to think about it, I found that my success came from two main principles which I coolly started to call “The Two R’s” - routines and relationships. These truly are the main pillars of my classroom management style and over my ten years as a teacher, I learn more and more how important they really are.

Routines are so important in the functionality of your classroom, and are a great way to make sure that your classroom is inclusive to all student needs. Many students with learning exceptionalities and IEP’s thrive with a set routine and predictable expectations and scheduling. By establishing routines with your students you are not only creating an inclusive classroom, but you are also helping your students to develop independence. If my students know that every morning, I will have a task on the board for them to do or a question to answer, will they need my guidance when they enter the classroom? Or will they learn to enter the classroom and independently take out paper to complete the morning activity? If they know exactly where their math books go at the end of every lesson, will I need to remind them every single time?

The great thing about children is they pick things up QUICK. It takes no time at all to establish routines in your classroom. And hey, does that mean expectations and structures won’t change throughout your school year? Absolutely not. Engage your children. Explain why you are changing things, or include them in the discussion. “Hey kids, do we think that this is working? What would make this transition easier?” Or “I think we need to change this, what do you think?” Including your students in choices and decisions about how your classroom runs will help in establishing a cohesive classroom community as well as build strong relationships. Here are some routines that I establish early on:

Predictable Schedule: I ensure that our schedule is posted/shared in a visible and consistent space each day. We spend the first 10 minutes of our morning going over our schedule, and discussing what we are working on in various subjects.

Classroom Organization: I establish a space where notebooks are kept, paper can be found, etc. Students know where to put their books and tools and when.

End of Day Chat: I like to end each day going over what we learned that day, checking for their understanding, and discussing how our day went. This helps us prepare for the next day, while also reviewing what we learned that day (bonus check for understanding!).

This may come as no surprise, but solid classroom routines can help lead to positive relationships between teacher and students. Predictability and consistency in your classroom will lead to a trusting relationship. Students feel safe and comfortable when they know what to expect. But there are other ways that we can foster great relationships with our students.

Include students in decision making: Planning a fun activity on a Friday afternoon? Take a vote! Give your students choice. Creating a rubric for a project? Have them help determine what a successful project will look like. Giving students a voice and SOME (not all..) control in the classroom will create more empowered and confident leaders.

Model growth mindset: Ever have one of those lessons that just falls apart? Doesn’t work AT ALL? Or causes a lot of stress for the kids? It happens to all of us. I like to use phrases like, “This isn’t working is it? What do you think would work better? I’m going to try this again tomorrow in a new way!” It’s good for your students to also see that their teachers make mistakes and can grow from them.

Take an interest: Make time to talk to your students about their lives and interests. “How was your hockey tournament this weekend? What are your plans for Halloween?” Taking a genuine interest in them will lead to a better connection, higher level of respect, and as a result, more focus and attention in class.

There are several ways to connect with your students, and develop a close and respectful relationship. I would love to hear some of your ideas regarding classroom management and what works for you! Feel free to email me at [email protected].

teacher
Like

About the Creator

Carly Visaggio

A new mom, educator, and lover of children’s literature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.