Education logo

Quarantine Story Snack

Chapter 1: Responsibility

By Davlin KnightPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Stories for your happy stay at home

Hi, welcome to the first chapter and a sneak peek into my thoughts and life. Hope you all are cozy in quarantine like me. Wash your hands and remember you can love someone while still being 6ft apart!

Have you ever been responsible for something out of your control? Held accountable for the consequences? It's your lucky day then because you are not alone! I've been responsible for a ton of things: School, siblings, etc.

Responsibility is not something your just given through words. Your dad doesn't go up to you and say, "Son, I'm giving you this thing called responsibility". No, because it's something that's earned or learned through trust or experience.

Often it comes as a slap in the face and (since you weren't prepared whether physically or mentally) your task spirals out of control. For instance, a few weeks back I was responsible for completing a project alone. Yes, alone. And share the credit with a lazy partner. This project consisted of 2 parts: 1,000 word essay, power point.

You may be scoffing at the simplicity of this project but A: I was procrastinating throughout the whole thing and B: Who wants to do both of those alone.

Anyway, so here I was, ignoring the fact it was due like next week. I played computer games. Slept. Ate. Slept. More games. Until, my lazy partner has the audacity to call me lazy and told me I needed to get it done and if we fail it's my fault.

Oh sure! I'm lazy. I'll show you lazy. So, I threw together some crappy paper and power point and chilled the rest of the week. My teacher was like "Okay, it's due thrusday" but I'm totally care free cause I had got it done.

Guess what I forgot? My partner asked me "Did you put my name?". I would have went ballistic because I was not going to put her name if she didn't do work. However, I didn't put my name. Yeah, crap.

So, I had to wait until next week to work on it. I'm still calm at this point. I could easily put my name and... hers.

The next week came fast and the power point was crap so I started over. I was completely focused. I wanted it to be a, A+. It felt good to finally get it over with.

Let me just say this. I hate school and school hates me so since we hate each other. School decided to have a fire drill. I was so frantic. I was barely through and everyone was leaving out the class and I'm sitting there panicking.

My teacher was calling me to leave out the class. I had no choice but to just put our names on the old project and turn it in.

I'm pretty sure I got a F on my final exam and my partner got one with me. Hooray! So I was responsible for me and my partners failing grade. I'm so proud.

But! Surprisingly, the teacher loved it and praised us both. Even when my partner did nothing. I'm not upset but like pepe sad.

Anyway, that is my fault. I could easily have put my foot down and told that girl to do something but I am not that assertive. I am now but in school I was just as frustrating as Clay from 13 reasons why. That simp. I was easily pushed around and taken advantage of.

If you are going through this then let me tell you. Do not. Grow some courage and kick that sucker in the throat. Just kidding...unless?

student
Like

About the Creator

Davlin Knight

Just an awkward guy with lots to share!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.