Education logo

Principles of Teaching: Informal Essay About The Journey Towards Teaching

Crafting an informal essay about the journey towards teaching. Assuming already an accomplished educator as to how to express ideas and feelings. Be guided by the key questions (KQ). Expressing an answer only within the limits in the exercise of the economy of words (S).

By Domingo Añasco-Gaces Samontina, Jr.Published 4 years ago 3 min read
1

key questions (KQ); economy of words (S)

Introduction

KQ1: How would you describe teaching as a profession?

By Thought Catalog on Unsplash

S1: A lifelong learner

S2: requires extensive period of education

S3: testing of competence

S4: has institutional training and

S5: a licensed professional.

KQ2: How would you describe teaching as a vocation?

By National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

S1: Acknowledge a call to serve others through the means of education and learning. Choose teaching from among a

S2: range of alternative careers that may suit personal interests. The role itself is directed towards others because

S3: learning is the purpose of education. Understood as a call of and a service so that others could learn the focus of

S4: conceptualizing teaching as a vocation is more on students for whom teaching activities are carried out than it is

S5: on the teacher who performs these activities or on the institution that supports the teaching function.

Body

KQ3: Narrate a significant experience that led you to make a career shift to teaching.

By Felipe Furtado on Unsplash

S1: I recall obviously how my instructors in school persuaded me to move from m engineering to teaching profession.

S2: One of my teacher in English and Sociology told me that they found in me the good qualities of being a teacher.

S3: Before the graduation came, I already decided to take a new path of profession, and that is education. I persuaded

S4: my parents to allow me to be here in Manila to pursue my Master’s Degree at my own expense. Luckily, I was

S5: given the chance to be accepted in the Teacher Certificate Program at the University of Santo Tomas Philippines which will be my stepping stone to the teaching profession.

KQ4: Narrate how you were able to overcome the challenges you have to face as you made a career shift to teaching.

By Kristopher Roller on Unsplash

S1: Ever since when I was a child, I always play the role of a teacher to my playmates. Teaching was my knack

S2: and passion, but due to financial problem, my parents cannot afford to send me to college, leading me to write a

S3: letter to her Excellency Pres. GMA asking presidential intercession. Luckily, I was given a full scholarship through

S4: the LGU of Claver. The only available course offered by the sponsorship is BS in Computer Engineering. I grab

S5: the opportunity, studied hard, and definite to pursue my teaching career after graduating college.

KQ5: Give the nuggets of wisdom that you have as takeaways from your journey of becoming a successful second-entry level teacher.

By Ashes Sitoula on Unsplash

S1: Be a free human being with an independent will. Be competent and take on extra responsibilities to be a great

S2: source of significance. Having a purpose in life is one of the things that help us keep going. We must be able to

S3: see the forest and the trees at the same time. My experiences fostered within me a desire to learn, challenge myself,

S4: and explore. I want to share that same experience with others, be an active participant, teaching, is how I identify

S5: myself in becoming a successful teacher. Always study, learn, and try new ideas and methods.

Conclusion

KQ6: How did teaching positively impact your life as a member of a learning society?

By NeONBRAND on Unsplash

S1: When we feel the work we do has a purpose beyond ourselves and that we are contributing to the greater good, we

S2: stay motivated and passionate about our work. Learning gives creativity that leads to thinking that thinking

S3: provides knowledge and that knowledge makes you great. That is the essence of teaching. I pondered this notion

S4: to uphold the status of teaching. It inspires me to do the same to produce a well develop and maintainable individual

S5: uplifting the standard betwixt and between learning and society.

KQ7: How can your life story be a source of inspiration for those who are treading the path towards being a teacher?

By Allie Smith on Unsplash

S1: I grew up with humble beginnings that I hope to be a source of inspiration as I am advocating to fight poverty. Be

S2: committed, dream big, and push boundaries. Education is the most important auxiliary for fighting insufficiency. Without

S3: literacy skills and a basic education, families cannot overcome social and economic barriers. Poverty should not

S4: be looked at negatively. Poverty with determination is the best test of a person's attitude. It should be on a temporary

S5: setback. Education is still the best antidote. It is the best weapon known to mankind to reach the zenith of success.

teacher
1

About the Creator

Domingo Añasco-Gaces Samontina, Jr.

.Professional Member of the Mechatronics and Robotics Society of the Philippines

.Certified Documented Information Controller with TUV Rheinland Qualifications

.Master of Science in Engineering (on-going) with Professional Teacher Certificate

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.