Education logo

Preparing for Winter at Zoom University - Tips for Online Learning Success

With the new school semester looming, here are my top tips to make the most out of your online learning experience.

By Laquesha BaileyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
9
Preparing for Winter at Zoom University - Tips for Online Learning Success
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Well, guys! We're back at it again. Yet another semester of online school. I'm in my 3rd year of university now and I have to be honest…last semester was rough. The combination of distance learning, multiple group assignments, ridiculous amounts of work and being away from my family and friends for months on end did not bode well for my mental health. Shocking! I felt lonely, anxious and overwhelmed all the time. For an introvert like myself, it was also infinitely more difficult to make friends and connections this year with everything being shifted to online. With the new semester looming, I thought I'd share what I'm doing to prepare so that I have a more positive and fulfilling experience this time around.

Search for your textbooks early 

I don't buy textbooks. Or rather, I try to avoid doing that as far as possible in a bid to save some money. Usually this involves scouring the internet for a free PDF, even an older edition. If that fails, I tend to buy/rent ebooks which are often a bit cheaper than a physical copy. If you prefer the use of physical books, then by all means buy them. Either way, do so as early as possible. That way, you are able to avoid the bookstore rush that happens during the first few weeks of the semester which always inevitably results in textbooks being sold out, placed on backorder and then having to survive for the first month without the use of a textbook. It also allows you to read ahead if you so desire.

Review Outlines for Your Classes

Do this early. Sometimes professors don't post course outlines on your school's learning platform or on the department's website until after the first class of the semester which sucks. Most times, though, they do and it's in your best interest to familiarize yourself with the syllabus for the term. Know what the expectations are, when your deadlines fall, communication protocols, your professors' office hours and contact information etc.

Write Down Your Semester Deadlines 

I often do this twice for good measure. Once in my day planner and then another time digitally using Microsoft To Do. Because everything is online and you may be working from home, it's easy to forget the small things and miss deadlines. I know that I did this quite a bit last semester. It's unfortunate but we're human and it happens. Reduce the likelihood of this happening by writing it all down. Post sticky notes all over your house if you have to. This way, you become familiar with the dates and you're less likely to miss them.

Start Your Reading Early

The further along I get in my university career, the more reading I seem to have to do on a weekly basis. Last semester, I took a 4th year seminar course that had over 100 pages of readings every single week. It. Was. Exhausting. Try to start tackling your readings for the new semester as early as possible. I know that it's not ideal to cut into your Christmas break with university work but trust me, your future self will thank you when you're not buried in course work in the next few months. There's also the added bonus of not being completely lost in every class and always feeling prepared.

Draft a Weekly Study Plan

It's never too early to mock up a preliminary study plan for the coming semester. This ensures that you'll be organized and ready for anything that's thrown your way in the coming months. You can always change it up when you gauge the difficulty of each class after the first few weeks. Remember: keep it simple and practical. Break tasks up into bite-sized, manageable pieces. This will make it easier to actually stick to the schedule and ensure that you are up to date on all your readings and assignments.

Find a Course Buddy Early

This is an online-school specific tip. Try to connect with other students in your courses early on in the semester, maybe even before classes begin. Join your class year Facebook group and don't be afraid to reach out to your classmates to ask if they share the same classes as you. This can lead to fruitful connections which will allow for the sharing of notes, creation of exam study groups and easy pairing up for any group assignments/presentations you may have throughout the semester. Online learning can feel quite dreary and isolated. Having another person to study with helps keep you accountable and also helps stave off some of these feelings of loneliness and boredom.

What are you doing to prepare for the next semester? Do you enjoy online school? Personally, I'm conflicted. I like the flexibility of working remotely, namely not having to commute and trudge through mounds of snow everyday but I miss the environment of the classroom. I miss getting coffee every morning on my way to class. And having to wade through dozens of student-run organizations advertising some election or bake sale or fashion show.

student
9

About the Creator

Laquesha Bailey

22 years old literally, about 87 at heart. I write about self care, university life, money, music, books and whatever else that piques my interest.

@laqueshabailey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.