Education logo

Passing ships

Passing ships

By Muhammad AamirPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

It was a warm summer afternoon, and I was walking home from school, lost in my thoughts. I was a freshman in high school at the time, and I was dealing with the typical struggles of adolescence: trying to fit in, figuring out who I was, and navigating the social hierarchy of high school.

As I walked, I saw an elderly woman sitting on a bench outside a small cafe. She was looked lonely and sad, and something about her caught my attention. I hesitated for a moment, unsure of what to do. But then, something inside me urged me to approach her.

I walked up to her and said hello. She looked up at me, surprised, and then smiled. We struck up a conversation, and she told me about her life: how she had lived in the neighborhood for decades, how her husband had passed away years ago, and how she missed him terribly.

As we talked, I could see the sadness in her eyes start to lift, replaced by a glimmer of joy and connection. And as we said goodbye, she thanked me for taking the time to talk to her.

At that moment, I realized the power of small gestures and human connection. I had only spoken to this woman for a few minutes, but I had made a difference in her day. And in doing so, I also made a difference in my own life.

That small moment stayed with me for years, and it inspired me to pursue a career in social work. I realized that I wanted to help people in a more meaningful way, to connect with them on a deeper level, and to make a difference in their lives.

As I began my studies in social work, I found that paying attention to small moments became a central theme in my work. I learned that small gestures, like a smile or a kind word, could have a big impact on someone's life. And I discovered that paying attention to the small details of someone's life, like their hobbies or interests, could help build trust and rapport.

One particular experience that stands out in my memory was when I was working with a young boy who had been diagnosed with autism. He was nonverbal and struggled to communicate with others. But I noticed that he had a fascination with cars, and I started bringing in small toy cars to our sessions. At first, he would just hold them and stare at them. But gradually, he started to interact with them, making car sounds and pushing them around on the table.

Through these small gestures, we were able to build a connection and trust. And eventually, he started to open up more, using gestures and nonverbal communication to express himself.

That small moment with the elderly woman on the bench had a big impact on my life, leading me down a path of social work and helping me understand the power of small gestures and human connection. And as I continue to work with individuals and communities, I am reminded of the importance of paying attention to the small details of people's lives and the potential impact that small moments can have on someone's well-being.

In a world that can often feel overwhelming and chaotic, it is easy to overlook the small moments and gestures that make life meaningful. But by paying attention to these small things, we can discover profound truths about ourselves and the world around us, and make a difference in someone's life in a way that we never thought possible.

courses
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.