Education logo

Online theft

Ways and why you may be scammed online

By Chika NdubuisiPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
1
     Online theft
Photo by Claudia Wolff on Unsplash

scam is any means someone uses to get you to part with your money. It is not always easy to spot a con or scam artist,But scammers know how to get around our better judgment,They play on our emotions or promise big payoffs to get us to act, Scammers also pose as people, agencies, and companies you know and trust.

when it comes to being scammed online,they are several ways and some possible reasons why you could be scammed online.

And here I'll be starting with WAYS

1.PHISHING ATTACK: scammers often use phishing email or message to trick individual into revealing sensitive information, such as pass word or credit card details,these massage appears legitimate, not knowing they are design to deceive you.

2.FAKE WEBSITES: scammers creates fake website with the same design and URLS that will be very similar to a legal websites,when u access this website all you information will be opened up to them giving them control over your what so ever they are targeting.

3.SOCIAL ENGINEERING: they use social engineering technique and also psychological tactics to gain your trust .

they are also so many other ways in which they can use to target you so beware.

going into some possible reasons WHY you could be a victim of scam.

1.LACK OF AWARENESS: many people falls victim because they are not aware of the different tactics scammers uses.

2.LOVE FOR MONEY: many are in rush to get money and end up falling in the wrong hands because they are told that they will make money where it's plenty in a simple way,they rush in without proper research or seeking more information .

3.TRYING TO RIPE WHERE YOU DIDN'T SOW: this brings down lot of people it also happened to me so I've actually testified, many opportunities are out now,making it a little bit hard to know the legit ones.

I my self was told to bring 2k to cashout 200k, and am to give back 35k as commission which I agreed after watching all the process in a vedio sent to my DM , I told my self that this is real and went on to do all which the guy say I should do,to my surprise I saw the 200k but unfortunately it was still pending ,I told the guy and he said I should add more money more like another 8k so it can process,I immediately do so without thinking the pending 200k was in my head ,not knowing that his already in control of my account using the info that I use to log in on the website he sent me thank God it was a sporty bet accounts and I have no money in it except the 10k he said I should deposit ,ever since I have learnt a very big lesson, I told my self that I will never try in my life to RIPE WHERE I DIDN'T SOW.

Here are some tips to avoid online scam

1.use a strong unique password for all your online accounts and enable two factors authentication whenever possible.

2.be caution when sharing personal information especially on social media platforms, limit the amount of personal information you share publicly.

3.regularly update your device and software to ensure you have the latest security patch and protection.

4.be skeptical of unsolicited emails,message or phone calls asking for finance details because legitimate organization will never ask for sensitive info through this channels.

5.research and veryfy the legitimacy of websites or individuals before making any financial related things.

finally remember that staying vigilant and informed is the key to protecting your self from online or offline scam,if you ever come across a suspicious activities or you have been scammed ,try your best to report it the appropriate authorities immediately.

student
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Chika Ndubuisi (Author)11 months ago

    Beware of scammers

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.