Education logo

More Than Education

The Importance of Personal Growth in Academia

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
More Than Education
Photo by MD Duran on Unsplash

What is the purpose and value of college? It is a question that has been debated for many years by many people.

Some think it is strictly to help you get a job and earn money. Others believe it is meant to help you grow as a person. Most haven’t even thought of the question, like myself, until recently.

The majority of society goes with the first one. You must go so you will be successful financially and career-wise. And that, in many ways, is how higher education is designed. But like anything, it has its issues.

Firstly, many people that go down this route aren’t fulfilled with their life now. I know several people, one who hates their job, and one who went into debt in college for a degree they don’t even use now.

They figured out they were passionate about until later in life, and one who switched interests right in the middle of school and has to begin again. And then there are the ones who go back to school. What does this mean?

This says that “The skills they are teaching are being packaged ad sold as skills necessary for equipping students to be economically competitive citizens rather than independent, engaged thinkers” (Bradbury), being many colleges, especially universities, are like factories, trying to be as efficient as possible to pump people into the workforce, but that isn’t right.

As King says, “But education which stops with efficiency may prove to be the greatest menace to society.” Meaning, education could produce people with degrees and wanted skills, but not much else that is required to navigate society and life.

That could create something a lot worse than the people who treat school differently. More and more, I see people with no way to cope with life when they roll off the assembly floor of university.

School is treated as a one-way track forward, telling you what to do for years, and what like Edmundson says, “In terms of their work, students live in the future, not the present; they live with their prospects for success,” not taking their time through life hand in hand.

But what if you are one of the ones that don’t want to be on that track? They probably think that “The idea that the courses you take should be the primary objective of going to college is tacitly considered absurd.” And that “If universities stopped issuing credentials, half of the clients would be gone by tomorrow morning, with the remainder following fast behind.” (Edmundson), which points out the vast majority of the population in school.

Using college as a means to grow and figure yourself out is not the most popular opinion. Many of these people are looked down on and are perceived to have no ambition or are lazy.

Because of those people who believe, “In college, life is elsewhere. Life is at parties, at clubs, in music, with friends, in sports. Life is what celebrities have.” (Edmundson) Meaning you should ignore your life for the sake of a good education. The movie industry is to blame for that one.

But knowing who you are as a person isn’t an easy or quick process. Some find it easier than others. I know people older than me who still have no clue.

As for what I believe, I’ll give some context. I’ve always carried a creative bend. It started with me wanting an artist up until middle school when I began dance classes, in which I was pretty good.

It changed again when we were required to write a three-chapter creative story in the ninth-grade English class. That was when I realized what I wanted to do and began writing stories at home, and I have not stopped since.

But I also wanted to explore other options, hence me going to community college. Funny enough, instead of it changing again, taking all these classes just reaffirmed my wanting to be an author, probably because I wasn’t forcing myself on one career path or another and took time.

So, what is my claim, and what do I think?

Although no one person is the same and I cannot speak for anybody but myself, I guess I would say that although college is a great method for finding a career and receiving a higher education, you can’t forget your likes and interests, because you never where they may take you.

Thank you for reading another one of my revamped assignments. Likes, tips, and subscriptions are always loved. :)

college
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.