Education logo

Mental health

Ways to help you find a mental balance

By Louis DiazPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hi,

I’m back again, previously, I’ve shared my life with CP and the battles I’ve faced in my life because of it. I’ve overcome many obstacles in my life however, one I still battle daily is mental health. I suffer from anxiety and depression. People don’t understand how difficult it is to get out of bed everyday sometimes, it’s insane how somedays, you don’t even wanna open your eyes. If you feel alone, sad, depressed as you read this, you’re definitely not alone. I’ll give you some tips that I do, that help me, just so you know, I’m no professional but these are things that help me cope on those really rough days. If I can help one person with this piece of writing, I’ve done something right.

I’ve slowly started trying to improve my life by making some big changes. Actually, this is one of them, writing, writing your thoughts and feelings down and reading them back can many times allow you to release those feelings and understand yourself and feel better, but also it may help you find answers of what you can do to improve that thought process. My time in therapy writing was so important, it allowed me to sometimes laugh at myself but also let go. So I absolutely recommend you try some writing.

Secondly, lots of reading. I recently started reading “the 4 agreements” by Don Miguel Ruiz. It’s a real eye opener and a great read, totally recommend. I also suggest when you figure out the source of your anxiety and depression you look into books that may help you understand your situation better. For me, it’s living with and IE parent. So, write down your feelings, study it carefully, and look up reading material that can help.

Thirdly, and this one is pretty obvious, everyone says this, but— talk to someone. Be open, tell your partner, your best friend, or sibling, a professional whoever, but don’t keep that inside. Don’t be afraid to show your true emotions. This especially has helped me a lot with my anxiety and I’m still improving on that. It’s a never ending door of improvement especially if you’re shy or have been critized for being sensitive like I have. It’s okay, you can speak up freely. Say what you feel, if it’s a direct person causing you distress, address it with them. If talking to others doesn’t help, speak to a psychiatrist or therapist. I’m doing that currently it can help so much. At the end of the day, just speak up. Trust me, easier said than done, I know, but it’s totally worth it.

Lastly, go for a walk. Personally, I enjoy walking and sitting at a park under a tree, and just enjoying nature. I especially love when I visit, New Hampshire. It’s peaceful and helps me calm my thoughts. if walking isnt what you enjoy, try going to the gym, lift weights, take dance classes, play some kind of sport or yoga, just be active and keep yourself busy youll feel so good after doing any of these activities, trust me.

I'll add one more that i recently discovered thanks to my girlfriend. join a support group. Social media is such a great tool if used right, you can join groups made especially to support one another in any field. anytime you need to vent and dont have anyone to talk to just search on facebook and I'm sure you'll find what you're looking for.

All in all, I have some really rough days at times but I’m finding ways to improve each day. Hope you find this useful, and always remember, you’re beautiful, you’re one of a kind, you matter and you’re never alone. Stay strong and hope my tips help you out some. Have a beautiful day! hope 2022 is a year you all find health, happiness and the answers you look for in life.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.