Education logo

Living with dyslexia

i am not sick, i am plus one

By Martyna KusiakPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Living with dyslexia
Photo by Rob Hobson on Unsplash

Living with dyslexia has shaped my life in ways I never imagined. Every day is a unique journey, filled with challenges and triumphs. In a world where words are the building blocks of communication, my relationship with language is both complicated and fascinating.

From an early age, reading and writing presented hurdles that seemed insurmountable. As a child, I struggled to grasp the connections between letters and sounds. The words on a page danced around, refusing to align in a coherent manner. It was like trying to solve a puzzle with missing pieces, an endless frustration that often left me feeling inadequate.

In school, my difficulties became apparent. While my peers breezed through textbooks and effortlessly composed essays, I stumbled through the simplest sentences. Teachers labeled me as lazy or unmotivated, unaware of the true nature of my struggles. It was disheartening to be constantly reminded of my limitations when all I wanted was to excel like everyone else.

However, dyslexia is not just a hindrance; it is also a gift. While my reading and writing skills may be impaired, my mind is wired differently. I possess a unique perspective and an ability to think outside the box. Creativity flows through my veins, and I can see connections that others might overlook. I have learned to embrace this aspect of myself, finding solace in my strengths rather than dwelling on my weaknesses.

Navigating the world with dyslexia requires adaptability. I rely on various coping strategies to manage everyday tasks. For instance, I often use text-to-speech technology to listen to written material, allowing me to absorb information more efficiently. Spell-check and grammar correction tools have become my trusty companions, saving me from embarrassing errors. These tools are my allies, bridging the gap between my thoughts and the written word.

Despite the hurdles, I have learned to persevere. I take pride in my accomplishments, knowing that each victory is hard-earned. Reading a book cover to cover is an achievement that fills me with immense satisfaction. Writing a coherent and articulate essay is a triumph that reminds me of my resilience. These small wins may seem insignificant to others, but to me, they represent the battles I have fought and conquered.

Living with dyslexia has also fostered a sense of empathy within me. I understand the struggles of others who face similar challenges. I see beyond the surface and recognize the hidden strengths that lie within them. By sharing my experiences, I hope to inspire and support others who face the same obstacles, reminding them that they are not alone.

In a society that often values speed and efficiency, dyslexia reminds me to slow down and appreciate the journey. I have learned to celebrate progress rather than fixating on perfection. My struggles have taught me resilience, determination, and the importance of self-acceptance.

Dyslexia does not define me, but it has shaped me into the person I am today. I have embraced my differences, finding my own path in a world that sometimes feels overwhelming. Life as a dyslexic individual is a daily adventure, filled with unexpected detours and incredible discoveries. And through it all, I am grateful for the unique lens through which I experience the world.

teacher

About the Creator

Martyna Kusiak

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Martyna KusiakWritten by Martyna Kusiak

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.