Education logo

Livestocks Farming

Farming in Africa

By TESLEEM SUBAIRPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
Like
Livestocks Farming
Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

are you guys wondering what I'm looking

at come let me show you what I'm looking

at I cannot believe that a few days ago

this whole place was filled with goats

goats that we've had for years um gos

that were born here those that we have

introduced here those that we bought

from Mellie those that we bought from

Ghana and obviously those that we even

brought from South Africa this

particular pen

used to be the foreign goats all the

female and male goats used to be here

from South Africa and at least we had

about maybe even 20 goats here um and

right in front of me it's about one two

three four different

pens um that are currently

empty and this all used to F at home

it's what I'll call it um

you know and to your left side used to

be the sah Helens these are the goats

from um Bina

FAO hi guys I don't know if this is your

first time watching this video but my

name is Fred um I'm life stock farmer

over the past 5 years I've been you know

um educating and practicing intensive

life stock farming in Ghana across the

group um and recently we were actually

um asked by the Elders of this community

to take our livestocks away we try to

negotiate with them ask them for more

time so that we can even relocate our

animals but unfortunately they still

didn't adhere to our plea so we were

forced to send our goats so we actually

had to sell all our livestock and now

what we have is basically an invest M

that has left us very confused on what

to do with it you know these things are

not things we can carry with us even if

we going to relocate um so the the the

biggest question to us right now is what

do we do with a facility like this um

and it is sad that just a few days ago

this place was you know flooded with

goats and you know and and and it was

joyful and with workers who were getting

paid who were earning a leaveing from

this sort of

investment so it is very sad and I know

you guys have been very supportive um

throughout that Journey but there is

something that I wanted to share with

you aside this sadness and this empty

investment that is lying here you know

mostly when we see investment like this

we see it as Government projects that

mostly you will see the media covering

how government projects have been

abandoned and not being used this is a

private man's project so it is actually

very um funny but in the midst of all

these sadness and you know uncertainty I

think there is some key things that I've

learned from and I want to share with

you guys and number one of it is the

demand and how we position yourself I

know some of you are still out there

doing livestock farming and some of you

are still going to go into it and do it

which I strongly encourage you guys to

do what has happened to me is not um an

obstacle that is going to happen to

everybody I ended up in the wrong place

at the wrong time and therefore I'm

paying the price for it in my own

Community by my own people um that

doesn't mean that if your land is

somewhere else you're still going to

face that problem so please keep on

going and as I said before in my

previous videos I'm available my team is

available to be able to come to your

farm and support you coach you if you're

new we will help you set up the farm

whatever you need we will be there for

you

product review
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.