Education logo

Lessons We Can Learn from Children on Being Better Humans

Children possess remarkable qualities that can inspire us to become better individuals.

By nofly leePublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Like
Family

As a former kindergarten teacher, these young minds have taught me valuable lessons about friendship, independence, and the beauty of asking for help. In this article, I want to share an enlightening experience that sheds light on the importance of vulnerability and seeking assistance from others.

Fierce Loyalty and Quick Forgiveness:

Children exhibit unwavering loyalty to their friends. They defend one another without hesitation and are quick to apologize and forgive. Their genuine acts of kindness and forgiveness serve as powerful reminders of the positive traits we should embody as adults.

The Story of Stan Lee:

During my time as a kindergarten teacher, I encountered a remarkable student named Stan Lee (a pseudonym). Despite being only five years old, Stan displayed an impressive level of independence. He could tie his own shoelaces and even helped his classmates with theirs. He possessed a sense of responsibility, ensuring his lunch thermos remained clean and discreetly changing his clothes when necessary. Although Stan rarely asked for help himself, his peers sought his assistance, even for tasks as simple as finishing their kimchi because it was too spicy.

The Power of Trust and Vulnerability:

Observing how children react when they fall taught me a significant lesson. Instead of immediately crying, they often stand up, puzzled, assessing the situation. It is when they lock eyes with a trusted adult that the tears begin to flow. Witnessing this phenomenon made me yearn for that moment when a child would come to me seeking assistance—proof that I had earned their trust and could be relied upon.

The Glorious Moment:

One beautiful day on the playground, I finally experienced that unforgettable moment. A child yelled out that Stan had fallen. As I rushed to his side, I found him puzzled, trying to comprehend what had just happened. Our eyes met, and the tears started to well up. He ran towards me, seeking solace. In that moment, I realized that he was not merely asking for help; he was giving me the gift of trust and vulnerability. Despite his independent nature, he allowed me to comfort him, knowing I could make a difference.

Asking for Help as a Privilege:

Stan's act of seeking help was a privilege—a gift that allowed me to assist him. It was a profound realization that being asked for help is not a sign of weakness but an opportunity to make a positive impact. Understanding this shifted the power dynamics and reinforced the importance of offering aid when someone reaches out for assistance.

Lessons Beyond the Classroom:

The lessons learned from kindergarten transcended into other aspects of my life. Years later, as a professional working extensively with volunteers in an association for Project Management Professionals, I realized the significance of setting boundaries and understanding the privilege of being asked for help. I had become adept at recognizing when I had earned someone's trust, as they would seek my guidance and support.

The Danger of Self-Imposed Expectations:

Over time, I began to place increasing pressure on myself to always be busy and excel in my role. My self-worth became tied to my performance, leading to burnout and a detrimental coping mechanism of denial and excessive drinking. However, my breaking point came when I tripped over my own feet, both literally and metaphorically. I realized I needed help, but it didn't occur to me to ask for it. It took a dear friend's intervention to remind me that seeking assistance is not a sign of weakness but an essential step towards healing and growth.

Embracing the Gift of Asking for Help:

That moment of vulnerability and reaching out for help made me question why I hesitated to ask for assistance. If I enjoyed helping others, why wouldn't I want others to experience the joy of providing aid? We often lose sight of the lessons we learned as children—lessons that taught us to be strong, independent, and self-reliant. However, it is equally important to remember that we don't always have to face life's challenges alone. By embracing the gift of asking for help, we can create deeper connections and foster a community of support.

Conclusion:

Children possess innate qualities that can teach us valuable lessons about being better humans. Their loyalty, forgiveness, and willingness to ask for help are traits worth emulating. The story of Stan Lee and the realization that being asked for help is a privilege and a gift have had a profound impact on my life. Let us remember the valuable lessons we learned in kindergarten and embrace the power of vulnerability and seeking assistance. By doing so, we can cultivate stronger relationships, foster personal growth, and create a more compassionate world.

studentteacher
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.