Education logo

JUST DO IT-I DID/Part 3

Determination

By Tammie ColePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Succeeded

April 17th, 2017, at the age of 45 college life began. I was nervous, lost, and excited at the same time. Days after completing my application to try, and get accepted to this particular university. My admissions counselor gave me sound advice and steps on how to get started. Not to venture off the topic, but I graduated from high school in 1990. The only other classes taken between 1990 and 2017 were computer classes. In 2001 after moving back to East Texas Computer Literacy Training was being offered. I honestly didn’t know anything about operating a computer.

This was a 20-hour course where I would learn basic windows, Microsoft Word, and Microsoft Excel. I was taught everything about operating a computer and the two most important programs to use. Three certificates later and the course was completed. Sometime later, 6ears down my path I wanted to become an LVN I tried and came to realize that it was not meant to be. At that time in my life, nothing was going right for me. Two things blocked me from being successful in that goal of becoming a nurse. One no vehicle and two using public transportation with some days no bus fare. Some days I would walk to school. It was very overwhelming and my grades were not acceptable for passing.

The next certifications were for certified nursing classes with a great success rate. Now back to my college adventure in 2017. APP a computer class it was then that I realized some of my knowledge and experience for computer literacy was rusty. I gathered my memory back and passed that class. Another class and I must mention this was the only C (grade) that ever received for the entire three years. Accounting I just mixing up things that were so easy. After taking this course I got a better understanding. I’m seriously thinking about becoming certified in this sometime later on in the future.

Courses kept coming each one lasting four weeks. My confidence and strategy kept getting better and stronger. Grades were great bad a few months in I make the Dean’s list. The excitement of receiving that email with that news was bitter-sweet. Continuing to strive in school and all the time awaiting my certificate in the mail. Finally, it comes I frame it with enthusiasm. That day forward I was determined to either make the Dean’s or the President’s list.

PowerPoint presentations were introduced and again I had never prepared one. After getting advice from my instructors and doing additional research I created my first. The process was not bad it was fun. Every time I was assigned to provide one it was no problem. There were meetings in zoom and live lectures that I was quizzed on. This experience in this class setting was very different and exciting. As long as I stuck to my checklists for each week everything was going smooth. Time is moving forward and I’m learning so much.

At this point, I have so much information in my head. Sometimes when during your daily life and attempting to juggle school. Having a set plan in action helps a lot to be successful. Procastronatin will attempt to creep into your atmosphere. One might begin to feel overwhelmed and for a second think about giving up on school. When and if that happens snap back and remember your goal. Think about all of the hard work that you have already contributed to your school path. I at one time felt that way, but I thought about my long-term goal of planning and preparing for this degree.

Gathering that much-needed strength and energy I push forward again and complete more courses. There were many instructors some teaching two or three of my classes. Sure enough, I get another email and it’s another achievement for me. This was right on time just the pick me up that I needed. A list was made again but this time it is the President's list. My excitement was over the top this time I was very proud of myself. At that moment I. knew I was not going to give up but finish my educational journey no matter what. This all came about during my first year of college.

college
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.