Education logo

Is College Worth it?

Yes it is?

By marie e ehlenbachPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 5 min read
1
Is College Worth It?

My son was going to college in the fall! Boy was I excited, and so was he! There was oodles of a papers, but he filled them out and I signed them. So fall was here and off he went!

I am a single parent, I got a divorce, when my son was about seven months old. My ex-husband and I separated, and I cried a lot of tears. He came to visit on "his time", and kept my son over night at his place. The next day he brought him back on time. Everything seem fine. The next week my ex-husband was going to come and get him, but no go! I called him and there was no answer. I later found out he had moved, somewhere, and didn't tell me! That was it! My son and I didn't hear anything about him until he was thirteen years old. Finally my son's payment kicked in, when they found out where was, that is! He had to pay $138.00 every two weeks. That was in place, until he got out of college. At the second year of college he paid $5000.00! That made my sons day! He could go on a GW Travel Services! France here he comes!

So, the third year of college came about and he was off to France! The Eiffel Tower is worth seeing! I cried this time really hard! I told myself a year wouldn't be all that bad!

So, I went on to work. I found out that it would't be enough money to keep him in France. So I took another job. I didn't write that I had no car, so I had to walk to both places. My first job was 3.9 miles from my home. I took the bus when my hours would let me. I was a banquet server. Where I was, there weren't any trains or buses that would let me get there on time. So walk I must! I walked SO much! I asked my co-workers for a ride, but they are not going my way! I offered a two dollar ride, but I still got a no. There were some going my way so sometime I got a yes! It was winter and I suppose they felt sorry for me! In the process I had to have my heat turned off! At least I had a place to live! My second job was only a mile or so, so that walk didn't bother me so much! At the time winter set in, the banquet were not so hot. So what did I do? I took a third job. When the spring was here, I got news that my son was homing home! I took a week off to celebrate, while he was home!

In the end of the week, I was going to bed and my son said good night to me. He went to bed. I had my hair up in curlers, they were uncomfortable to sleep in but I thought they would make me look wonderful! I remember waking up in the middle of the night and I sat up and everything looked bright. I thought I was having a dream and went back to sleep. Later on I woke up and found out I couldn't talk right, my right left was being push back and I couldn't move it. I thought I have to get on to work, and started to pull my curlers out. I couldn't! I looked at my right hand and it was like it was outside of its self trying to get back in! I called my son and he thought I was fooling around! When he realize what was going on, he call an ambulance right away!

The hospital said I had a stroke! I couldn't talk right and couldn't walk either! I stayed in the hospital for six weeks. Then my son came to get me and take me home with him, Washington DC. He rented a apartment and he still went to school. I stayed in the apartment for six weeks! No going out. So I did it. In six weeks I started going out. The first time I did I felt my legs give away. I caught myself right away, and kept on going.

My son and I started applying for Social Security. Eventually I got it! It saved him a lot of money. The first check was $1278.00 dollars! It paid the rent! I'm not kidding just in time! The next two checks will be coming in about six weeks. Well, that was a load off myself, I can imagine it was his too.

A later on we moved into an apartment in another park of DC. My son went on to school. I went into speech therapy. I can talk now! Not good, but most people understand me. You don't know how much that goes between myself and him. My check paid the rent and the rest of the money went to school. He went to work at a movie theater. Later he graduated. He went on to Georgetown University and got a two year degree to be come a teacher. They gave him three choices New York, California, and Washington DC. New York came through for him! So now he is a teacher in New York.

He left me with a apartment in DC. Paying $1500.00 a month rent! My check went to paying the rent and he paid the $200.00 that was left. I signed up for free food. Once from the Doctors office, that was one time each month. Another time there was a ad for free food and I qualified for that one. That one was once a week one Tuesdays. I went to work at Advantages Solutions on the week ends. So that was how it was for one year and a half.

Then I got a call from Tyler House! I got an apartment here!

I went to see my son in New York, two times a year. Thanksgiving, and Christmas. The covid-19 has screwed up everything. I saw my son in August. This year I will see him for Thanksgiving, and Christmas! I see him very happy when I look at him! So college was worth it for him!

travelteachermovie reviewdegreecollege
1

About the Creator

marie e ehlenbach

I started writing when I found my imagination needed a place to be! Yes, I will write about anything that comes to mind! Living near the National Park in Washington, DC. I find it is the place to go to let your imagination take over!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.