Education logo

How to Learn Any Language

An easy shortcut to learning a language fast

By Emily HowellPublished 4 years ago 2 min read

I put together a cheat sheet paper of how and what to learn when learning a brand new language. This can go to almost any language you try/want to learn, as long as it's done in a writing or speech format. Before anything, make sure you have utensils needed, like a notebook to write in, or a google doc, a form of audio recordings, and a simple English to Language dictionary. Other uses to learn can be:

Flashcards , Keeping a diary in that language , Having a friend who also speaks/is learning the language , Listening to music or watching shows/movies in that language , Dictionary notes , and using Glosbe, Mango, or Duolingo .

If lucky, find someone who speaks the language you want to learn to help correct any errors, and also try talking to that person IN that language for more practice.

1- If there is a separate writing system, learn the written alphabet and numeral system. As you learn the alphabet and numbers, learn the calendar, and how to tell time.

- Be careful for double meanings with certain characters and different spelling or punctuation. Also be wary if the language has the same writing system. That does not mean the letters are pronounced the same. There could even be different/new letters mixed into it.

2- Learn how to say ”I, he/she, you/you (plural), we, they” and other various forms. Also learn genders, and ages.

- Be wary of the languages male/female forms , and make sure to notice any formal/casual forms.

3- Learn the “to be” words (am, is, are) and possession words (have), along with proper conjunctions for #2

4- Learn question words (the 5w’s) and how to use them in a sentence.

5- Learn verb vocabulary in proper sentence structure

EX: “I want to eat”, “I like/don’t like”

6- Learn colors, shapes, and sizes.

7- Learn direction (Left/right, up/down, here/there)

8- Learn conversational words (Hello/goodbye, thanks. Sorry. Yes, and no)

9- Learn people, places, transportation.

10- Learn animals and objects- Can be a visual game

*After learning these, learn in a way that fits your lifestyle and daily needs. Also learn curse words in order to AVOID saying them in wrong times.*

Greeting/Getting to know you

Hello Goodbye What is your name? I am…/My name is…

Nice to meet you How are you? (Sometimes a greeting)

I’m well/good Where are you from/where do you live? I am from…

What is your occupation/job?

Polite Vocabulary

Please Thank you You’re welcome I’m sorry/Excuse me

Yes/No

Getting Information

Where is…? Where can I..? How do I get to…? How far is…?

Can you show me on a map? Could you write that down?

How much does it cost? What is this? What time is it?

What is the best…? How do you say…? What is fun to do around here?

What do you recommend?

Numbers

1-10, 100, 1,000

Transportation

Airplane Train Taxi Car Bus

Places

Place Restaurant Hotel Home Market/Store School

Work Airport Bathroom Train/bus station

People

Family Friend Significant other Teacher

Boss/Co-worker Stanger Boy/Girl Man/Woman

Communicating Basic Information

I like… I don’t like… I speak… I’m allergic to…

Making Requests

I would like… Can I have…? Do you speak English?

Menu, please/Check, please

Expressing Confusion

Repeat, please Say more slowly, please Can you write that down?

I don’t understand I’m sorry, I don’t speak… What does … mean?

Emergencies

Help! Caution/Danger Emergency Fire I need a doctor

Are you okay? Please call the police

Others to Learn

Animals, Body parts, objects, signs.

how to

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Emily HowellWritten by Emily Howell

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.