Education logo

How My Teaching Has Changed

Reflections of a Ten Year English Teacher

By Dan SmithPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
My YouTube Channel

I believe that my whole approach to teaching has changed significantly enough for me to reflect on what I do now and how I got here.

I will start with some of the bigger and most important changes first, but they are all important in their own way:

Learning, not doing

This may seem painfully obvious, but I fell into the trap of worrying about students 'doing stuff' in the early years of teaching. I think this was linked to the idea that if students were 'occupied with stuff', they wouldn't be tempted to misbehave.

I now know this is not the case. When planning a lesson, series of lessons, or a Scheme of Work, I ask myself:

  • What do I want students to know?
  • What do I want students to understand?
  • What can I say and do to transmit the knowledge and my ideas effectively?
  • How can I bring about intellectual curiosity?
  • What can the students do that will help them process and absorb the knowledge and ideas?

I apologise if I have used words clumsily, but I am trying to convey that 'learning, not doing' is vital.

Slow down

I used to try and pack way too many activities and way too many ideas, knowledge, content in a lesson; I wouldn't step back and ask myself the questions above.

Every lesson should be simple in design and with a focused but significant aim. Reading about lesson design and teaching has really helped me with this, which brings me to my next change.

Reading & CPD

Unfortunately, I have found that whole school CPD, INSET training, has not always helped me improve as a teacher.

Over the past few years, #Twitter and @Team_English1  have been my main source of CPD. Members of @Team_English1 write blogs, recommend blogs, write books, recommend books, organise conferences and recommend conferences.

There are a lot of books out there and I have yet to read all of them. My strongest recommendation from what I have read is Making Every English Lesson Count by @atharby  and the @every_lesson team.

Visualiser

Using a Visualiser has transformed my teaching and it has become even more useful in the 'COVID classroom.'

  • Put a text under the camera & and annotate with the class.
  • Select a model piece of work & put under the camera for the class to discuss.
  • Select a piece of work & mark it under the camera with the class.
  • Show the same piece of work in different stages of editing/drafting throughout a lesson or lessons
  • Place two pieces of student work or comparison texts under the camera and compare with the class.

And finally - Revision Raps!

My class watched the 'Mac's not hot' quotations rap by @MrBruffEnglish & asked if there was one for DNA by Dennis Kelly, but, as not many schools teach this as their GCSE Modern Play, there wasn't one. They asked if I could make one. So I did.

@MrBruffEnglish was very helpful in giving advice and he also retweeted the result. I enjoyed it so much I have since made several more.

My rap on London by William Blake was my second effort and my personal favourite, although I don't think the style of it impressed the students so much!

I hope that this post has had some useful ideas for both new and experienced teachers.

teacher
Like

About the Creator

Dan Smith

I have been a Secondary School English Teacher in the UK for ten years. I am also the author of 'Macbeth: 25 Key Quotations For GCSE' published by Firestone Books.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.