Education logo

How I Built My Medium Following

How I boosted my views & read times for maximum output

By Jess B.Published about a year ago 4 min read
2
How I Built My Medium Following
Photo by Anthony DELANOIX on Unsplash

Wanna be a writer, ey?

You have something to say.

A message to deliver. Your product or service needs another medium or platform to mark rank upon.

Oh, yes that pun was intended.

Keep reading for tips on how I gained 185 followers in less than 30 days.

Study the platform

If you’ve read my articles before, then I apologize for this statement in advance.

I signed up for Medium in February of 2022 but didn’t publish my first article until November of 2022. I took those nine months to study the platform and see what kind of writing was most popular and resonated with me most. Not to mention, I was very hesitant about writing my first article here.

Fast forward to now, I followed a lot of great writers here, like Abena Talks , and signed up for one of her challenges — thus leading me to my second point.

Follow and engage with other writers

One of the first writers here that I engaged with was Abena. I binge-read many of her articles and got the inspiration and motivation to write my own.

Engaging with other writers on Medium by clapping on their posts and commenting on their posts can also help you to gain followers.

Writers love readers who engage with their work. Even the smallest comment can make a writer’s day! If you don’t have a comment, I would also suggest asking them a question related to their article or something they mentioned about themselves in that article.

Plan your content and publish your first article

Don’t just think about it, be about it!

Write that article. Write about something you’d wish you had known. Or you can write what writers refer to as “evergreen” articles.

What’s an evergreen article? It’s content that never loses value. It’s usually an article written that tells you how to do something, like how to create a blog or like this post — how to grow your following to 100+ in less than 30 days.

Here’s an example of an evergreen post:

Be consistent

You will only truly see growth once you consistently show up to publish new content.

If you only post once a month at the beginning of your writing journey, do you really expect to grow your readership?

I think not.

I’ve seen the most growth in the last 14 days since publishing at least one article per day.

You don’t have to post an article a day, just start with at least one article per week and keep the momentum going from there.

Write an array of topics

Most writers will tell you to pick a niche and just write about one or two subjects.

What if you have many subjects that you love writing about and aren’t sure which one you truly want to focus on? Write about as many topics as possible and measure your personal stats, like how you felt during the writing process, and how long did it take you to create that blog post?

These are all things to take note of while in your first 30–90 days of building your blog.

Check your stats

Numbers don’t lie.

Numbers are sacred. Not only do they carry a vibration, but they give you data. Numbers tell you how many people are viewing and reading your content.

From what I’ve seen here on Medium so far, the most important thing is creating engaging content that your readers will enjoy reading to the very end of your posts.

You can’t compete where you can’t measure.

Who would you be competing with? Yourself. To become a better writer, to give your readers more value for their bang every time you hit publish.

Share your content on other platforms

One of my favorite platforms to share my stories on is Many Stories.

I get so many views on my articles there. I even sometimes share the love and promote other writers’ articles on there.

I have seen good feedback by sharing my article links on Twitter. I was able to get a Vocal article of mine submitted to their top stories page!

Screenshot of Vocal tweet about my article featured in their Top Stories 12/14/2022.

Bottom line

You never know who you’ll help by writing what’s on your heart, or what you have learned.

Write that article!

NOW!

I got the inspiration to write this article from Kristina God ’s article.

See what writing does? It inspires other people to think and write about their experiences.

And why are you not writing yet?

Remind yourself of your greatness just like I did, by subscribing to my newsletter, here. You can create your best life with some gentle reminders. I’ll share how-to’s and send you inspiring and thought-provoking suggestions to get you started blogging today! What are you waiting on?

how tolist
2

About the Creator

Jess B.

I love cultivating and sharing my thoughts on Relationships, Philosophy, Spirituality, Self-Development & Improvement, Poetry, Astrology, and Health & Wellness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.