Education logo

How Depression Affected My Freshman Year

College did not turn out how I expected...

By Syd GlisanPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like

The week before I began my freshman year at Temple University, I was overwhelmed with fluctuating emotions. I was admittedly nervous, but I was more excited than anything. I felt ready for a new challenge, new friends, and a new life. While I was close with my family, I felt as if I was ready to fly from the nest and make this big move into the city of Philadelphia.

On the day of move-in, I unloaded all of my crap, met my roommates, and settled into dorm life. When it was time to say goodbye to my parents, I did not cry; honestly I just wanted them to leave so I could begin this new chapter of my life.

The first few weeks were overwhelming. I was showered by fliers for extra-curricular activities, free Temple gear, and new students attempting to navigate throughout the campus. My classed seemed simple enough and I was making friends. I truly felt like I belonged at Temple. I walked around campus with my head held high and a grin from ear to ear. I joined a club, went to parties and football games with friends, got along with my roommates, and had phenomenal grades. Everything seemed to be going perfectly!

That all changed around mid-October. The leaves were changing and the air was chilled. The on-campus excitement seemed to die down dramatically. The pressure of midterms had begun and no one was looking up from their books. The once energetic, happy campus had become a sad, cold, and miserable one. No one had time for fun anymore; everyone was focused on their studies and themselves. The friends that I once had moved on to form cliques of their own and I was stuck on my own.

It all happened so suddenly. One minute I was on top of the world and the next I was deep in a pit of solitude. With all of the loneliness, I found myself spiraling into my inner thoughts. I started to think about my family and how much I missed them, especially my dog. Out of sheer paranoia, I questioned what I had done wrong with my new friends that drove them away. I started to focus on these things instead of studying or going to parties. I was holed up in my room most of the time and I never wanted to leave.

I had been diagnosed with depression and anxiety at a very young age, and it typically took hold of my life during school months. I had felt like this before, so I brushed it off, thinking that I was just having another episode and that I would get through it. No big deal.

As time progressed, things only got worse. My grades started slipping and I would call my parents every night crying about how lonely I was. One night, I called them from the public study lounge in my dorm and it ended in a full panic attack. I could not stop crying and my parents were so worried that they drove an hour to pick me up and take me home in the middle of the night.

I felt relieved sleeping in my own bed that night. It was comforting to be somewhere so familiar after being incompasses in uncertainty for so long. I felt safe.

When I woke up in the morning, my parents were waiting for me in the living room. They suggested that I see a therapist through the college’s free counselling service and that I drop out of my math class because I was on the verge of failing. Their suggestions were sensible and realistic; I understood why they wanted me to lighten my course load, but for some reason, my stubborness would not let me drop the class.

I went back to school and began to see a therapist. She was very helpful and I liked her a lot, but something was still missing. I still felt empty inside, and the loneliness continued to creep up on me. I could not get myself out of bed, I watched Netflix more than I did my homework, and my grades continued to fall. All the while, final exams were quickly approaching.

I realized that I needed to get my shit together ASAP and crammed excessively. I studied night and day to attempt to pass all of my classes. Exams came and went and I patiently awaited my scores. All of my classes were passed... except for math. I was devastated. The word failure was pulsating through my mind. I had never failed a class before and I was extremely embarrassed.

Over winter break, I discovered what it was that I was missing at school: my family. Seeing my dog, my older sister, and my parents on a daily basis gave me joy. I realized that I tried to move on too soon and I was not ready to give up my old life entirely. I made the decision that I was going to visit home every weekend so that I could take a break from the throes of the college lifestyle.

When the spring semester began, I tried out my new plan to visit my family and it helped immensely. I continued to see my therapist, I retook math, and I signed up for a mental health resource that allowed me to have extra time on assignments. I began to get my life back on track. The weather began to change and so did my attitude. I could see a light at the end of the tunnel.

My freshman year was far from perfect; I had to forge my own version of perfect. I still have a long way to go in order to adjust within this new life, but I have hope. I strongly believe that my sophomore year is going to be so much better for me. I refuse to let my mental health take me down again. I will persist. I will win. I will thrive.

college
Like

About the Creator

Syd Glisan

just writing what I think :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.