Education logo

Hotel Diary

Park Central Vibes

By The Vibe Podcast Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
1
Park Central Hotel NYC

Once upon a time I was a full-fledged Karen working my way up management in several NYC hotels.

I am grateful for the experience and proud of myself for getting out the game and entering the wonderful world of writing, reading and entertaining.

Following my heart was the best thing I did nearly two years ago.

Today, I am a Podcaster, Author and Writer!

To fund my Art, I am back in Hospitality, but I am no longer in Management.

Today, I am a simple Front Desk Agent at a NYC Hotel. I wish to work there until I am writing full time.

Back in 2015, I wanted to work my way up to becoming General Manager one day and I must say I am quite proud of myself.

My highest rank was Operations Manager at the Yonkers Hampton Inn & Suites. Management was not for me.

Very stressful and long hours but the knowledge I gained is priceless and I have no regrets.

I was the Assistant Front Office Manager at the Park Central Hotel in NYC and boy do I have plenty stories to tell.

Once again grateful to be a writer, I plan to revisit this property and look for co-workers for my writing.

The Vibe Podcast has a page on Indiegogo, the ultimate goal is to get this story on the big screen. You must see what I have seen!

Imagine little old me being sent to Brooklyn, NY for Fire Safety Director training?!

Working at high end hotels in the city, you are expected to dress a certain way.

Back then I had my glasses, blazer and pencil skirt.

Karen all the way!

Upon my arrival to the mandatory class, I realize I am in a classroom full of Maintenance personnel, Engineers, Landlords, Mechanics and I am the only female... well the only that I can remember.

I felt so overdressed!

This was back in 2015 and all I could think of was... "what am I doing here?"

Then enters the instructor from the FDNY and had one of the strongest NYC accents I have ever heard... you know the instructor also had a powerful mustache to match the accent and I thought to myself once again... "what am I doing here?" I was only a manager, but I had to take this mandatory training.

It was about a two-week class; I was given a big book to study and a map.

I had to take the test twice and happy I passed, eventually.

Now that I wish to share my story, I appreciate all the experience I have gained throughout the years.

So long as it has to with education, go for it!

If your job offers you an opportunity for free training... take it because one day, it will pay off.

Especially, for someone like me who was not guided as a youth, these types of trainings are a big plus. Not only for your career but for life in general as well.

The instructor not only trained us in building, pipes, fires but also safety. For example, when you enter any building/room always look for the exit signs. Scan or scope out the place for anything or anyone that looks suspicious.

This is basically Dad advise that I never got because I missed out on an opportunity of having a father.

Sadly, my father was murdered when I was only one year old.

I've had to learn a lot about life on my own and I am grateful for all the life lessons I have received.

These lessons have most certainly come in handy over the last two years.

February 2023 will mark two years of recovery for me, writing about my life experiences makes me happy.

If sharing my story makes you laugh, this makes me happy.

If sharing my story helps you think better and make better life decisions, that's my blessing.

Recovery is possible, always keep a journal... you never know what may transpire. Your experiences are valuable, write them down.

Take all classes/trainings that are offered to you... why? Because knowledge is most certainly power!

FSD

trade schoolteacherstudenthow tocourses
1

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.