Education logo

Greedy people have nothing

A greedy word is a bottomless abyss

By 张聪聪Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

A few days ago, I learned the text "the story of fisherman and goldfish". Whether it's a kind goldfish, an unsuspecting fisherman, or an old woman who is never satisfied, they all flash clearly in my mind. I think the old woman's greed leads to nothing at last, which is the best warning for us.

The story tells of an old fisherman who caught an unusual goldfish. The goldfish begged the old man to put her back into the sea and promised to reward the old man with a valuable reward. The old woman knew this, just like the goldfish asked for a new wooden basin, a wooden house, and to be a hereditary lady, the goldfish agreed one by one. Who knows that the old woman is still not satisfied and wants to be the overlord of the sea and let the goldfish serve her. This angered the goldfish, took back everything she gave her, and the old woman finally became nothing.

In the story, the old woman was insatiable, never satisfied, and finally lost everything. This proves the saying that good is rewarded, and evil is rewarded. At the same time, I thought of a story. A beggar carried a shabby girdle and begged door to door. Suddenly, the goddess of fate appeared in front of the beggar and kindly said: in fact, I have long wanted to help you. I have collected a lot of gold coins. Please open the bag. I'll fill it with gold coins. But there is one condition: all the gold coins that fall into the bag will be gold coins. If the gold coins fall from the bag to the ground, they will immediately turn into dust. Please be careful, I have warned you that I will strictly abide by this condition. Your bag is worn out, so don't put too much in it to avoid bursting. Hearing this, the beggar was so happy that he could hardly breathe. He felt as if he had floated up, and for a time he was a little carried away! He hurriedly pushed the bag open, so the glittering gold flowed into the bag like a golden rain, and the bag became heavier and heavier. Is that enough? Not enough. Don't burst the bag! Don't worry. Look, you are very rich now, and you are going to become a rich man. Please give me a little more, even a small gold coin! Hey, it's full! Look, the bag is breaking! Give me a little more! The bag suddenly burst, and all the gold coins were scattered on the ground, turning into a pile of junk. The goddess of fate disappeared, leaving only a bag in front of him. The beggar was as poor as ever, so he had to continue begging along the street. Therefore, each of us should stay away from the abyss of greed and learn to be content. Don't fall into the abyss of greed. Don't let greed put chains on your heart. If you know contentment, you will often be happy.

I remember that it was the morning of the summer vacation. My father gave me 20 yuan to buy books. Unexpectedly, the salesperson found 5 yuan more for me in a hurry. I just wanted to return the money, but on second thought: do good things and no one knows, don't waste it, the money belongs to me. So I put the money in my pocket again and proudly walked away. Spending money is a matter of peace of mind, but who knows how I can't use it. My heart seemed to have broken into a rabbit, jumping incessantly, and my hand just stretched out retracted again. If I hadn't been greedy, I wouldn't have such a problem, thinking only of getting something for nothing. Alas, it's useless to regret now. After a fierce ideological struggle, I decided to return the money. When I came to the bookstore, I blushed like an apple when I entered the bookstore. Finally, I told the salesperson the whole story of the money and returned it. The salesperson praised me. I feel much more relaxed in my heart, and my whole body is like a loose tie, which makes me feel a lot easier all at once.

As the saying goes: the human heart is insufficient, the snake swallows the elephant. A word of greed is a bottomless abyss. Whoever falls into the abyss of greed will harm both others and himself. People will do anything to achieve their goals for their greedy desires. However, they will end up with nothing. There is nothing for nothing in the world. We need our own efforts to create a better life.

college
Like

About the Creator

张聪聪

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.