Education logo

First Loves don’t work out

"The Pain of Young Love Why First Loves Rarely Last''

By Mahar SbPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

Music lesson in the fourth grade.

When I look to my right when seated alphabetically, I see the most gorgeous boy ever. In fourth school, my friends and I were star-struck by this lad despite the fact that I never paid any attention to boys. Earlier That day My fourth-grade teacher had earlier that day told our class that she and her husband had met when they were in the same grade. And although they fell in love, they didn't start dating seriously until they were in college. After telling us about how she met her spouse, she said that we might get married to someone we know now.

Then there I was, having never given marriage or boys a second consideration before that day, staring at this classmate-only guy. I couldn't stop thinking about what my instructor, Mrs. Bell, said. I might end up with a classmate as a partner. even the person seated across from me. I told people I had a crush on this guy during that academic year ( we will call him J from this point on ). J also expressed to me his shared sentiments in this regard.

Since it is the fourth grade, there was nothing more going on than simple hand-holding.

As a result, we "dated" during our fourth and into our fifth school years. In addition, I was certain I would wed J, just like my fourth-grade teacher had done with her husband, in my young mind. J and I terminated things as the fifth grade came to a conclusion. Both of us lacked a means of communication as I was transferring to another school. We thus said our goodbyes before the academic year came to a close.

science class for seventh graders

They catch my attention as I enter my science lesson for students in the seventh grade. And I can tell who it is right away. J offered me a gentle smile as he sat down with several of his friends.

During the first few weeks of school, J and I had many of the same classes, which led to a lot of conversation and a rekindled friendship. And before long, he started dating. And this time, we were more like real lovers; he came to all of my volleyball matches and cheering competitions, and we were always hanging out together.

At the time, it appeared that I was going to wed the boy from fourth grade, so I was overjoyed that we had reconnected.

However, I broke up with him toward the year's end. Since it was about seven years ago, I can't recall exactly what it was about, but I do recall that it was a ridiculous excuse. J and I lost touch after the seventh grade. Before eighth grade, he switched schools.

in their first year of high school

I wander around each of my classes. On those first several days, I couldn't stop looking as I traversed the halls. I genuinely clung to the faint hope that I might see him again. that now that we are both a little bit older, we would run into one other again. Unfortunately, I never saw him again.

Now

Following that, I started looking for him everywhere I went. I often find myself hunting for my first love, whether it be in a restaurant or the grocery store. I have no idea why the boy I hardly ever dated has such power over me. Although it has been seven years since I last spoke to or saw him, I have looked for him in every relationship I have since had.

I also know that I'll hold out some hope that I'll run into him again when I start college the following week.

However, I am aware that it will not be successful. First loves rarely do. And the reason I think so is because first loves often end for stupid reasons. The relationship doesn't actually progress because we are so young when it occurs and have no concept of what love is.

Along with my own experience, my mother also shared with me the tale of her very first love. And how their breakup was caused by the silliest excuse known to man. Sometimes they message one other to catch up. But nothing further will ever occur between them. Each has a spouse and children. And sometimes it depresses me. Knowing their story and how deeply they loved one another, only for them to separate and wed new partners.

If I ever run across J again, I hope it will be for some epic tale like Mrs. Bell's and not like my mother's where I'm friends with him on Facebook.

However, I still adhere to my earlier statement that first loves rarely last. And I believe that I will always keep a candle for mine burning. Furthermore, I doubt that I will ever completely move on from him. But I'll continue to scan the crowds for him and keep on onto the dream that one day we'll cross paths once more.

studenthow tobook reviews
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.