Education logo

Earning a PhD in Education at 66

It can be done

By Jim GilesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
The author

I am a 66 year old senior citizen and started my PhD online almost two years ago. By the end of next summer, I will be half finished with my PhD in Higher Education Administration and Leadership. With that degree, one can be a professor or the President or Vice-President of a University or a College.

I also hold a BA in Spanish Language and Literature and an MBA in International Business. I have been teaching at the college and graduate levels for over 25 years. I just completed a course Teaching the College Student taught by the Dean of Education at my university. I learned a lot in the course about teaching millennials and other generations of college students and how to design a syllabus. The Dean is an excellent professor and teacher. She and I got along very well in the course. I got an A in the course. It is something when someone 66, gets an A in a doctoral course.

This proves one is never too old to learn or get a PhD. Many people would never go for a doctorate at the age of 66. By the time I graduate with my PhD , I will be 68 or 69. I hope to teach online when I get my PhD in Higher Education. I may even try to get a teaching job at a major research university and do teaching and research and write books.

I love teaching and writing. Teaching the College Student has been my favorite course so far. I have also taken Advanced Learning Theory and Doctoral Research and Learning. I will be taking Educational Leadership and Public Relations next starting a week from Monday on the 26th. The courses are very compact and 8 weeks long. I take six course a year.

I like to paint and walk and dine out in my free time and watch movies. One must take breaks when studying for a doctorate at 66. It is very stressful at that level. A doctorate is a lot of research and writing papers and projects and interviews and field work. We also have to take research courses and do a dissertation and defense at the end. It takes about 5 years to get a doctorate online. It is never too late to learn. I love going for a doctorate at 66. I was accepted into every program that I applied to. I never had time to study for a PhD when I was younger. I was always teaching and working. It is great to still have a good mind at 66 to be able to do doctoral work.

I just had cataract surgery a few days ago. I did all of my work before the surgery so I could see well before the course ended. I had to submit my work before the surgery. My surgery was a success and my eye is healing well. The professors in the doctoral program in Education are so nice at my University. I can't wait to finally finish my doctorate in a few years.

It has been my lifetime goal to earn a PhD. I know I can do it. I will be writing more stories about studying for a doctorate. You must have a plan for doing it and consider it like a job and get it done each week. It is a very hard thing to do but truly worth it. Many students never finish their doctorates. Many finish all the courses and not the dissertation.

I will keep you all informed of my progress. This is a road worth traveling for me. I have been on it all of my life. I am finally getting closer to realizing my dream.

degree
Like

About the Creator

Jim Giles

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.