Education logo

Don't Be Peer Pressured Into Going to College

At the end of the day, you determine your own life course... and that can/can't include an extended education.

By Haley MariePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image derived from Getty Image

It's that time of year again... High school seniors are dressed head to toe in their favorite state school merch, just to drop out a mere two months later.

To be honest, I did go to college... Not once but, twice! I went to an overpriced-underfunded art school straight out of High school. I didn't know a single thing about the degree I was earning (Bachelors of Fine Arts). I just knew I loved art, that's that. Then after realizing I put myself into debt for a mediocre school, I went to community college... Anddd dropped out because I felt like I was going against my heart.

Oops?

Community college was great, I have to admit that. Part of it was a challenge and that's what pushed me to do the best I could. I felt like I was learning. I switched from Fine Arts to Criminal Justice. Yeah, I was going to *real* school! ... Nope.

While attending my New England Art school, I thought of something... Do you really need college unless your goal is to be a Doctor or Lawyer? Crazy or naive?

Just stay with me here and really think about it. Close your eyes and open them into my perspective... I just wasted nearly two years of my life because I was unsure about where I wanted to extend my education. I felt like I had to go to college and there was no other choice. I was told I would be a "burn out." But, those thoughts changed about a year ago...

I currently work in an office environment with an entry level job that I enjoy. I'm making money while others are losing thousands, at least that's my mentality. Yet still, four years from now myself and those who went to college are going to meet very similar salaries.

Fours years of education or four years of hands-on work, at the point it's just a game of pick-your-poison.

Makes sense, right?

Of course, having an education means you can earn a higher salary or be more favorable over someone who doesn't, but that isn't a guarantee. Some employers favor experience over education and vice versa. You just have to take a step back and look at your life as if you were 20 years older. Would you regret not going to college? Do you see yourself needing college to achieve your goals?

Sadly in this world people align their goals with money when that isn't always true... You don't need a six-figure income to achieve your life goals.

But when I say "life goal" I mean something that will give you true happiness each and every day of your life. Of course, everyone wants money but is money going to give you true happiness every day above everything else?

If that's the case for you, good! Go to college, get the best education you can get, and achieve that goal to also achieve that happiness.

For me, I don't care how much money I make. I just want to be comfortable. My goals are to achieve overall happiness with my life and to have a family. That's it. Short-and-sweet.

Regardless...

Don't go to college because your friends are going, go because you feel it will positively change your life and make a difference in your future. More importantly, don't go to college to have fun. Don't.

I would never say, do not go to college or further your education. Do it if that's what you want! College is fun and gives you a sense of belonging. But, if you're an over-thinker or plan on having an alternative life then find this as comfort.

If you're in High school, do as I say not as I do. If you're really unsure about the future or have little to no interest in college, DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY. You will just end up with student loans and a degree you probably won't even apply in the real world.

Just always remember that you can still amount to something without a formal education. You just have to work hard and focus on what exactly you want.

college
Like

About the Creator

Haley Marie

Here to keep my day job less boring and my passions alive and well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.