Education logo

‘Clarity and self-initiative shapes your future'

An alumnus of Apeejay School, Rama Mandi opines that the location of the school provided a serene learning environment

By Apeejay NewsroomPublished 5 days ago 3 min read

He is an alumnus of Apeejay School, Rama Mandi at present, working as a Cloud DevOps Engineer at the Center of Excellence Unit of Enforces in Chandigarh. He pursued a BCA from D.A.V. College, Sector 10, Chandigarh, affiliated with Punjab University, followed by an MCA at the Guru Nanak Dev University campus. With six years of experience in the field, he has today a strong background in cloud computing and DevOps. Meet Meet Hitesh Mehta.

In a conversation, he talked about his school days among other things. Read on...

Tell us about yourself.

I'm quite tech-savvy and integrate technology into almost every aspect of my daily life. Whether it's managing finances, planning my schedule, or organising investments, I always leverage technology to streamline and enhance these tasks.

What did you study in school?

In school, I chose to study Commerce, which has profoundly influenced my approach to various aspects of life, especially in managing financial matters. This educational background equipped me with essential skills in areas like Accounting, Economics, and Business Management among key areas.

What made you work as an Engineer after pursuing Commerce?

I chose to pursue Commerce in school because I was interested in computers but didn't want to focus solely on Science subjects required for engineering courses like BCA or MCA. Instead, I opted for Commerce to explore a path where I could blend my interest in technology with a strong foundation in business. This decision allowed me to keep my options open, providing opportunities in both technology and business fields without the heavy emphasis on science and engineering.

Any specific memory that you reminisce the most about your school days?

During my time at the school, although it was only for one year, a couple of memories stood out. One notable experience was a school tour of the railway coach factory, which was both educational and enjoyable. Additionally, I also received the Mr Handsome Award which seemed funny yet a special recognition for me during my brief tenure there.

Any common challenges that you have faced in your professional journey and how were you able to overcome them?

Initially, I had the zeal to join Big Four companies. During the COVID-19 pandemic, I took a significant career shift. Starting with remote work from Gurugram suited my preferences initially. Despite earning awards and performing well over a year and a half, I chose to move closer to my hometown due to family reasons. This change aligned with my personal and professional goals, strengthening my resilience and determination. Each challenge to me has been an opportunity for growth, both professionally and personally.

Any B2B/B2C project you loved working for?

I’ve had the experience of working on a B2C product that I still see advertised daily. Whenever I encounter these ads, it reminds me of the time I spent working on the project and the satisfaction of contributing to its development.

Any advice you would like to give to students who wish to walk in your footsteps ahead?

Students must begin exploring their options early, starting from class IX to align their interests by the time they are in class X. They should have a clear idea of whether they want to pursue Commerce, non-medical, or Science. It’s common in our society to perceive non-medical as offering more career opportunities, but it’s essential to follow personal passion and strengths. Students should not be influenced by what others are doing. But should listen to their hearts and assess their abilities realistically. It’s vital to start taking proactive steps towards their goals, leveraging the abundant educational resources available online.

Read the entire story at Apeejay Newsroom!

high school

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ANWritten by Apeejay Newsroom

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.