Education logo

A good book is good to the eye

A good book is good to the eye

By Liston FlowersPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

The autumn sun warm and quiet, like a layer of silver fine jade spread on the earth, shining on the door of his Alma mater. When I was going through the gate to enter the campus, the guard stopped me and said, "People from outside the school are not allowed to enter our school." I smiled and said, "I'm in this school, too." The guard looked at me and asked, "Look at you strange, are you a new teacher?" I said, "I'm not a teacher. I went to school here before. I was a student. Yesterday I called teacher Xu and agreed to meet him in the office today." The guard smiled and said, "Oh, Principal Xu casually told me that a young man would come to see him today when he came this morning. Please come in. Go straight down this road and turn right, past the school broadcasting room and you'll find the headmaster's office."

I haven't set foot in my junior high school for nearly twenty years. In this long time, the world took place strange changes, but the Alma mater in addition to the renovation of a teaching building, almost no change. The blackboard newspaper on the outer wall of the classroom was still covered with beautiful chalk characters. The plane trees on both sides of the road are still luxuriant and standing proudly in the sky. The basketball court and table tennis table on the playground are still full of the pride and vitality of a group of young people... I wandered around my Alma mater, looking left and right. Memory, like a key, opens the lock of time and presents the past world in front of my eyes.

That was when I was in the first grade of junior high school, and I was still a naive teenager. I like to read extra-curricular books. I always hide a novel written by Lu Yao and a collection of poems by Wang Guozhen under the textbook or on the bed, and take them out after class to secretly chew. Once, after a night class, the dorm lights went out. I sat in bed reading a book in the dim light outside the door. My eyes were fixed on the beautiful meaningful words, but I did not know that the teacher was standing beside me.

"The light is out, it's time for bed!" Teacher Xu's voice suddenly rang out.

I was surprised, quickly put the book together, plop plop heartbeat, looked up to see teacher Xu is watching me. His eyes sparkled in the dim darkness.

"What book? "He asked softly.

"A book of poems by Wang Guozhen." I bowed my head and confessed like a criminal.

"Oh. The school banned students from reading such messy books so that you could concentrate on learning well. You of this book I confiscate first, arrive weekend you arrive my office to receive." Mr. Xu said that, grabbed my book clenched in his hand and walked away.

"You are finished this time. I guess Mr. Xu will criticize you in class tomorrow." "My roommate gloated.

Panicking, I hid the only extra book I had left in a desk drawer under a thick stack of textbooks, hoping it wouldn't be confiscated.

At the end of the week, I walked into Miss Xu's office. A graduate of a prestigious university in the capital, he was given a separate office when he returned to his hometown to teach. The office was cramped like a snail's shell, but neat and elegant. There was a red lacquered desk in the middle of the room, and behind it stood a small bookcase, piled high with books, almost weighing down the thin, thin shelf.

Teacher Xu is sitting on the desk correcting homework, see me knock on the door to come in will put the pen in the ceramic pen holder.

"Xu teacher, I came to get the book." "I whispered.

"Well. The school forbade you to read extra-curricular books, is forbade you to read extra-curricular books such as swordsman, love, fantasy, terror. Those books are bad ideas and easy distractions. The textbook is limited, so I suggest you make time to read good books. When you go to college, you will understand that the students of literature can not only read a few excerpts from the textbook, but also ignore the novels of the Ming and Qing dynasties. Students of history don't want to memorize the memorization in textbooks and turn a blind nose at the twenty-four pages of history..." Xu teacher talk, said and turned from the bookshelf to take out two books to me, "this book is you, another is Zhu Ziqing's essays, after the weekend when you go home can come to my office to borrow a book, take time to have a look, the best to write a reading experience."

I was pleasantly surprised when I took the book and thanked the teacher. As I turned to leave, I caught a glimpse of a calligraphy and painting hanging on the white wall to my left. The calligraphy and painting, framed in glass, read "Good books benefit your eyes." I stopped and looked up, feeling that this painting was powerful and smooth, and its charm was even more profound and transcendent.

"This is a piece of calligraphy given to me by my teacher the year I graduated from college. I've been thinking about what those four words mean."

"Teacher, what do these four words mean? A good book is good for your eyes. I asked curiously.

Teacher Xu smiled and said: "Many years have passed, I have not figured out the meaning of these four words. I'll tell you when I know."

Since then, the four words "good books benefit eyes" have been embedded in my life and become a proposition of my life. I thought about it over and over again.

Time, like a roller coaster, has taken us staggering and speeding along the cosmic track, and, with a click, nearly two decades have passed, catapulted us into today's chain. We clung to hope and continued to roll toward the commanding heights as time passed.

I went to the principal's office, knocked on the door and went in. Mr. Xu sat on the sofa, tea set on the tea table, a wisp of quietly elegant wen Run tea fragrance floating.

"I guessed you would arrive soon, so I made a pot of Pu 'er tea and sat waiting for you. Sit down. We haven't seen each other for nearly twenty years." Teacher Xu was brimming with enthusiasm.

I looked at him and found that he was no longer the teacher who had been in his prime. Now he was 50 years old and suddenly old. And I'm no longer the boy I was when I was 12 or 13.

The autumn sun passes through the glass window, the picture gives a few long and thin light and shadow on tea table. We sat at the coffee table, drinking tea and reminiscing.

"Mr. Xu, I remember that there was a painting of 'Good books Benefit eyes' hanging in your office before..." I said.

"Here's this one. I had it framed again when my teacher died three years ago," Mr. Xu said, getting up and pointing to the calligraphy and painting on the wall. "It's been with me for more than 30 years."

I wiped my glasses and stood up to stare at the painting.

"Teacher, this picture often appears in my mind, glittering with gold. I've tried to understand it over and over again, but I can't get to the point."

"Well, what do you make of that?"

"People experience a lot of things in their lives. Life is a big book. The books we write and print are but a miniature version of life. Books, for us, are like food. Bad food, afflicting the body and mind, is bad books; It is a good book to eat healthily and benefit the body and mind. Good books are needed to render the color of your life, the straightness of your soul, the depth of your feelings, and the breadth of your vision."

"That's your understanding. Each person will interpret the picture differently. I think the words are simple and simple: Reading a good book is good for the eyes, the eyes are the window to the soul, good eyes make good heart."

"The teacher's understanding was concise and thorough." "I said, pouring out my tea.

Mr. Xu stood up and moved the chair under the wall. He stood on a chair and reached for the painting on tiptoe.

"What are you doing, teacher?" I said, supporting him to keep him from falling down.

"My teacher gave me this piece of writing, and NOW I'm going to tear it down and give it to you. When you are old, give him to a young man."

When the sun was setting, I held the calligraphy and painting "Good book Benefiting Eyes" and said goodbye to Teacher Xu. I think I shall hear another version of it years later, when I give it to a young man.

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.