Education logo

70 minutes

Kicking and Screaming

By Jessica StrattonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Runner-Up in We Have a Dream Challenge
Like
70 minutes
Photo by Ivan Aleksic on Unsplash

I don't know what happens to them when they leave my classroom. I don't know if I make a difference in their lives. All I know is I have 70 minutes.

I had a 7th grader who was mad at a new assignment I presented in class. I'm not going to say this kid is a difficult student, but he's a difficult student. The assignment was supposed to help the kids follow what they liked and think about possible careers they might enjoy. They were supposed to come up with a project to showcase their interests and possible careers. The majority of my students were delighted and they excitedly told me about their plans. A group of students liked art and acting, so they were going to make a short movie. A couple students took to making games online. Some were going to go to animal shelters and volunteer. The list goes on.

Then there was . . . Let's call him Harry. Harry was mad and was very vocal about how he is "too young" to complete this assignment. I was also "forcing him to learn something." I was getting upset as he argued about completing an assignment that required him to put in a little effort. I explained that this was not busy work, it was structured to help him start thinking about his future, which was in my curriculum. Harry could not wrap his mind around work and continued to argue and make excuses. After a LOT of talking, we came up with a sort of project and he left angry.

I was upset and was ready to vent. Another teacher shared her frustrations about students who just did not care about education. They come to school, expecting what? To not learn? That's not what we’re all about.

I called my dad on my drive home and told him the whole story. By the end, he was even frustrated with this kid. I then asked, why should I care and bend over backwards to help kids like this if they are going to fight against me? Why should I try?

My dad then said something that humbled me. "You are there to save kids. Even if you have to drag them kicking and screaming."

I've thought about this with a variety of emotions. Frustration, understanding, and then fear. How can I save kids when I only get them for 70 minutes at a time? How do I save Harry, who has a reputation of being rude to teachers who are trying to teach him something. Harry, who always has an excuse. Harry, who is pissed when he has to put in any sort of effort. How do I get through to him?

Well, just as I love my own children even when they are difficult, I love my kids at school. I love them enough to care. I push them, I help them, I praise them when they do well. I thank them, even for menial things. It's a positive environment. It's a kind environment. It's a safe environment.

Now, does this mean that if Harry doesn't want to put in the effort to complete this assignment that I let him sit at his desk and do nothing? No. I will continue to push him, as well as all the other students who come through my door. I believe this type of kindness might be more powerful than the candy I bring for my students. I think it is more powerful than the emails I send to parents or other teachers when I feel that a student is struggling emotionally. It is more powerful than the kind words, deeds, checkups, and all the other things I do in my class on a daily basis because it lands on the student to put in the effort, and that helps them grow. It leads them to investigate, it fosters curiosity, and it teaches them to work hard on things that matter. These are life skills and even if I only get 70 minutes at a time, I want my kids to know that they can achieve ANYTHING. That is why I became a teacher.

So, when Harry continues to argue with me throughout his high school experience, I will continue to push him to do better. As I do this, I will check up on him, ask him what's new and exciting in life, let him tell me all about his video games and cool experiences, and then I will ask him to work. I will ask him to think. I will ask him to put in the effort needed in order to be successful in life. I will push him to be a little better than he is now.

I get 70 minutes with my students at a time and I will do my best to make a positive difference in their lives, even if I have to drag them kicking and screaming.

high school
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.